imac/bootcamp/xp/problems

Discussion in 'iMac' started by stsc13, Feb 15, 2008.

  1. stsc13 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #1
    okay....(very) BIG headache, did some research and found that if i took off automatic time and date, and then set it to a date before the expiry date for boot camp beta then i could get boot camp to work on my imac g5 running mac osx tiger 10.4. not a problem. i started boot camp and partitioned the HD for mac and xp, i then inserted the xp disk and started set up, although not to my plan, i got through the first stages, then it asked me which partition i was going to use, so i chose the smaller one as i knew that mac osx was on the larger one. but the smaller one seemed too small for xp so i exit the set up for xp. it then restarts the whole computer. when it starts, i get the grey/blue screen for mac (with no logo) for about 2 seconds then it changes to a pc DOS screen saying 'no operating system found' (i think, as im now at home and its in my office at work so i cannot look at it) : ( help please... as i cant get it to load up as mac osx...
    i'm using an imac g5. i think i may have deleted the startup system volume. what should i do?
     
  2. Mister9 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #2
    can you get the xp disc out? Make sure you don't touch any buttons cuz I kept hitting buttons when it said press any key to boot from disc, which i wasn't supposed to... You'll have to put the Tiger disc in if you have it- then hold 'C' to boot from it... if you don't have it go out and buy the new Leopard
     
  3. stsc13 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #3
    i think i have it somewhere... but my problem with that is (i think) i'm using a wireless keyboard and mouse, the mouse picks up fine straightaway, but i dont think the keyboard is :(

    with reguards to re-installing, could i use an install disk from a friends new macbook? or does it have to be just for the imac g5?

    oh and yes i can get the disk out, used the holding down the mouse button option
     
  4. Ladybug macrumors 65816

    Ladybug

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #4
    Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but bootcamp/xp will not work on a non Intel based Mac. You indicated you had a iMac G5 which has a powerpc chip in it, and bootcamp/xp is not designed to work with those processors.
     
  5. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #5
    Well first of all you can't be using a G5 iMac since that is a PowerPC machine incapable of running Boot Camp.

    Secondly, it sounds to me like Boot Camp may have been set as the default partition. Just hold the Option key when you hear the "bong" chime at startup and let go when the boot options appear. You should see the Boot Camp partition and OS X. Boot into OS X and then in System Preferences > Startup Disk choose OS X as the default.

    If by some chance you do not see OS X as an option after holding the Option key at startup then there is a very good chance you've hosed it. Pop in your Tiger DVD and hold the Option key again and choose the Tiger DVD to boot. From there run Disk Utility and see if you can repair the Tiger disk.
     
  6. stsc13 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #6
    err i am using a g5, its one from work, and i found boot camp beta on it in utilities, then realised that it expired ages ago. so i changed the time and date settings so i could use it...

    and now wondering why i did, :(
     
  7. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #7
    The first Intel Core Duo iMacs were identical in appearance to the G5 that preceded them. Click on the Apple logo at the top left then About This Mac. I'm sure you will see it says "Intel" next to processor. I say this because Boot Camp will not run on PowerPC machines. It's not a question but a flat out fact.

    I remember when I sent my old 20" Core Duo iMac in to Apple for a logic board replacement once that on the repair receipt they listed the machine as a "G5 iMac" but it was most certainly Intel.

    Plus, Boot Camp Assistant is only a partition utility. You only need to set the date back to run the application to change the partitions. Once the partitions are set properly you do not need the date to be set in the past to access the Boot Camp installation, only to run the partition utility.
     

Share This Page