Imac boots in recovery partiition

Discussion in 'iMac' started by BoxedUser, Dec 2, 2011.

1. BoxedUser, Dec 2, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2011

BoxedUser macrumors newbie

I cant get into my mac by starting it up regularly, only way i can get into my mac is going into safe mode. Its a mid 2011 imac with Lion preinstalled also to make it worst i cant reinstall lion since it says its damaged. Any suggestions also, im new to mac and run bootcamp half the time.

Its a base model 21.5 mid 2011 imac. Tried Single User mode and V mode both are successful but boot in
    "Mac os Utitiites" WHich is the recovery partiiton

I think it something to do with software update in lion i got last night, also 300 views and 0 replies just because im a newbie. Not into mac os but can you still help me? Won it in a youtube giveaway, hope it makes you angry enough to reply
    verified permissions and disk all seem to be ok. My sister tried to go into guest mode to print something on my printer.

2. Comeagain? macrumors 68020

Comeagain?

When you hold [alt] when booting, what different options show up?

3. BoxedUser thread starter macrumors newbie

4. obsidian1200 macrumors 6502

obsidian1200

When you say "its damaged", are you referring to a specific partition (if so, please specify), or is the entire disk being reported as damaged? I know you said you tried verifying the disk (which I'm assuming means you can get into the recovery partition?), but have you tried repairing it anyway to see if something changes?

If the physical disk were damaged, I would think that you wouldn't be able to get into any of the partitions without problems (if not many failures in trying to do so), so I'm guessing only the OSX booting partition is damaged. Of course, I could be wrong here, and the disk might be damaged beyond repair, which would mean you'd have to get it replaced.

5. BoxedUser thread starter macrumors newbie

I was referring to the lion installation backup

6. Weaselboy Moderator