imac boots with a fuzzy screen (pixels messed up) any idea?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by tommygun94, Nov 24, 2008.

  1. tommygun94 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    #1
    Hi there I am New to the forum, and have a small problem...

    Sometimes when I boot up my new imac I get this screen (see attached image)

    You can get rid of it by clicking in the corner and dragging a box over it but its pretty annoying, and was wondering if there is anything I can do?

    Any advice would be great...

    Thanks
    Tom
     

    Attached Files:

    • imac.jpg
      imac.jpg
      File size:
      767.5 KB
      Views:
      4,326
  2. isx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    #2
    Just try this and post your results,

    Tidy the files off of your desktop, pop them in a temporary folder if needed and reboot. There has been a few reports of too many items on the desktop causes glitches like this, hopefully it'l be patched soon though.
     
  3. chrisdee macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    #3
    I also had similar problems to this on my IMAC (2.1GHz Intel DualCore CPU) machine with OSX 10.4.9. I called the store I bought it from and they told me to try the two following things :

    1) Reset Parameters :
    During boot press and hold : Alt + Apple (Command) + R + P
    untill you get message that parameters are reset.

    2) Restart power management :
    Turn of the imac and disconnect the power cable. Then hold the power button/start button in for at least 10 seconds. Connect the power cable and try starting your imac again.

    It worked for me.
     
  4. Mac12345 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #4
    We have the above problems on three iMacs in our office.

    One has been back to Apple and had a replacement logic board and graphics card and ram. The problem still exists!
     
  5. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #5
    I keep getting this on my 08 Mac Pro....:mad:

    Will be keeping an eye on this thread to see if there is any magic cure.
     
  6. iBlue macrumors Core

    iBlue

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #6
    :p spousal public disagreement:

    I wouldn't say we KEEP getting it but it happens every so often. (maybe 3 or 4 times in the last several months)
    More often I think is that the finder needs relaunching because nothing is clickable/updated on the desktop. I have no idea whether or not these are related problems.

    I should know, I use it a lot more often than you. :p

    Aaaaanyway...
     
  7. Luap macrumors 65816

    Luap

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    #7
    Its a software glitch. Lord only knows why Apple are replacing hardware in an attempt to fix it, you'd think they would know better :confused:

    Theres been a couple of threads about this here before (have a search). My iMac did it for a couple of weeks very soon after the 10.5.5 and Java updates were released and installed.
    Some folks say it is related to the number of icons on your desktop. It may or may not be true. I've tidied mine up a little bit and i've not had the problem at all for weeks now. So it was either the desktop icons doing it somehow, or some kind of corrupt graphics file that cured itself after a while.

    Whatever it is, it really isn't a hardware problem.
     

Share This Page