iMac Bus Speed

Discussion in 'iMac' started by DannySmurf, Mar 12, 2009.

  1. DannySmurf macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #1
    Hi all,

    I have a last-gen iMac that I'm going to upgrade from the base 2GB of memory to 4GB. Looking through the system profiler yesterday to check the memory configuration, I noticed that it has 800MHz RAM, but a 1067MHz FSB.

    So, two questions before I do the upgrade:

    First, is there a such thing as a DDR2 PC2-8500 SO-DIMM? I haven't been able to find this, even on Newegg.
    Second, if the answer to the first is yes, will there be a significant performance difference by putting that in rather than PC2-6400?
     
  2. Mike in Kansas macrumors 6502a

    Mike in Kansas

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    Metro Kansas City
    #2
    Even though the FSB is 1067MHz, the RAM slots only take DDR2 RAM, of which I believe the fastest for the iMac is 800MHz.
     
  3. guklein macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #3
    And what would be the best option to upgrade an iMac 20'' 2.66Ghz (previous model)? Crucial, Corsair or Kingston?

    I noticed Crucial is 800MHz and Corsair is 667MHz. Thats it? Why?

    Thank you.
     
  4. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    The RAM bus speed is fixed. So even if you did find the faster RAM it would downclock to 800MHz as soon as you put it in the iMac.

    To guklein:
    There was a version of the iMac that had a 667MHz RAM bus. For your computer make sure you get the 800MHz RAM.
     
  5. guklein macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #5
    Crucial, Corsair or Kingston...does not it matter?
     
  6. DannySmurf thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #6
    No, it really doesn't.
     
  7. guklein macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #7
    I found a good deal in a Kingston SODIMM 2x2Gb SDRAM 200pin 800Mhz (dual channel).

    Would it be a good choise? It has a good performance in an iMac?

    Thank you.
     

Share This Page