imac & cinema display connection issues

Discussion in 'iMac' started by fjvolk, May 18, 2018.

  1. fjvolk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2018
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta Canada
    #1
    I just replaced my macbook pro with a new imac 27" & I would like to keep using my existing LED cinema display as a second screen but I'm running into challenges with the connections. Cinema display has old(er) mini displayport cable but new imac has thunderbolt ports only. Can't seem to find simple adapter/cable. Is there a solution?
     
  2. redheeler macrumors 604

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #2
    Assuming the iMac is a current 2017 model, look for a Thunderbolt 3 or USB-C to Mini DisplayPort adapter. They do exist. In fact, here's one on Amazon.
     
  3. fjvolk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2018
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta Canada
    #3
    Thanks for the reply. Yes, it is a 2017 model. I was skeptical that this type of adapter existed given I asked for help at my local Apple store but they weren’t much help. They showed me a similar adapter to the one you referenced that Apple makes but said it “doesn’t support a video signal” which really confused me. Why make that adapter if it doesn’t support video...strange! Anyhow, I’ll give the amazon adapter you’ve referenced a try. Thanks again!
     
  4. filmak macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #4
    This is because the Apple made Thunderbolt 3 to thunderbolt 2 adapter does not support direct video signals (like minidisplay port, DVI etc), it's ony suitable for disks and other devices. Only a Thunderbolt display, like the last one made from Apple, now discontinued, can work with this adapter.
     
  5. fjvolk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2018
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta Canada
    #5
    Thanks, that makes more sense to me now. I'm having to reeducate myself on all the latest interface changes as my trusty old macbook pro had to be replaced & it just worked flawlessly for 10 years so haven't really been keeping up.
    Cheers
     
  6. fjvolk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2018
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta Canada
    #6
    Well, tried the adapter you referenced in the link from amazon. No luck...even after trying to reset the PRAM as has been suggested. Seemed to work for others, but I guess Ill try an different brand adapter.
     
  7. fjvolk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2018
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta Canada
    #7
    Tried a different adapter from Amazon and...success!
    UPDATE: Tried a different adapter and...success!
     

Share This Page