Kappa468

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 13, 2020
3
1
Hello, I’m trying to figure out if I would be able to run the new Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020 in bootcamp on my late 2013 ME086LL/A iMac.

Do you guys think it has a chance? I’m worried most about the video card and VRAM. Thanks very much!

Minimum Requirements for game:

  • CPU: Intel Core i5-4460 or AMD Ryzen 3 1200 or better
  • RAM: 8 GB
  • OS: Windows 10 64-bit
  • Video Card: Radeon RX 570 or GeForce GTX 770 or better
  • Pixel Shader: 5.0
  • Vertex Shader: 5.0
  • Free Disk Space: 150 GB
  • Dedicated Video RAM: 2048 MB
Recommended Requirements game:
  • CPU: Intel Core i5-8400 or AMD Ryzen 5 1500X or better
  • RAM: 16 GB
  • OS: Windows 10 64-bit
  • Video Card: Radeon RX 590 or GeForce GTX 970
  • Pixel Shader: 5.1
  • Vertex Shader: 5.1
  • Free Disk Space: 150 GB
  • Dedicated Video RAM: 4096 MB
iMac Specs:
RAM
Processor
Hard Drive
Video Card
Display and Resolution
Standard RAM8 GB
Maximum RAM16 GB
RAM TypePC3-12800 DDR3
Min. RAM Speed1600 MHz
System Bus SpeedOPI
Processor Speed2.7 GHz
Processor TypeCore i5 (I5-4570R)
Standard Hard Drive1 TB (5400 RPM)
Int. HD InterfaceSerial ATA (6 Gb/s)/PCIe
Video CardIris Pro 5200
VRAM TypeIntegrated
Native Resolution1920x1080
Built-in Display21.5" 16
2nd Display SupportDual/Mirroring
2nd Max. Resolution2560x1600 (x2)
 

4sallypat

macrumors 68020
Sep 16, 2016
2,182
1,863
So Calif
I"d like to know as well because I have a Late 2013 iMac exactly as yours.

Normally I don't buy simulation software but when I saw how realistic the graphics are, I was intrigued.

My iMac I am running an external Thunderbolt 2 SSD drive to avoid the spinning beach ball...

As a novice AV geek, I was thinking of getting the basic $89 version which covers most of the planes and airports I was interested in.

As for Windows 10, which would work better - Parallels or Bootcamp ?
 

Kappa468

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 13, 2020
3
1
I have had better experiences with bootcamp than with parallels reference that game. Hopefully someone will give us a good idea on if our systems can handle it ok.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 4sallypat

Erehy Dobon

Suspended
Feb 16, 2018
2,162
1,992
No service
My guess is that a 7-year-old Mac's integrated graphics will be insufficient to properly run MSFS 2020 at acceptable frame rates. In fact, the minimum graphics requirements don't include recent Intel Integrated Graphics versions like Ice Lake's UHD 920. Microsoft is asking for a pretty decent GPU in the Radeon RX 570 as a minimum.

Since I don't own a 7-year-old Mac, you could test out your system's graphics performance with freeware open source FlightGear. If FlightGear runs poorly on your 7-year-old Mac, there's no way your Mac will run MSFS 2020. FlightGear does not have specific hardware minimum requirements. But it's free, so download it and try it out. If it works, at least you'll have a decent flight sim.

Note that MSFS 2020 has very substantial broadband Internet requirements as they are moving most of the environment data to the cloud.

It is questionable whether or not I would have a satisfactory user experience on MSFS 2020. My Wintel PC's eGPU has a fine graphics card (GeForce RTX 2070 Super) but my Internet connection falls way below the minimum requirements.

I know that the previous version of MSFS can be found on the Steam store. That might be the way to go for older hardware.
 
Last edited:

dimme

macrumors 68000
Feb 14, 2007
1,970
8,147
SF, CA
I just ran the beta on my 2019 i9 iMac with a Vega 48. Running it at medium graphics settings the fans were blasting at full speed. The frame rates seem decent but I not sure of the FPS. It did not look like the trailers I have seen. I was very disappointed with the clouds. I not sure If I jumping on board yet.
 
  • Wow
Reactions: 4sallypat

dimme

macrumors 68000
Feb 14, 2007
1,970
8,147
SF, CA
I just ran the beta on my 2019 i9 iMac with a Vega 48. Running it at medium graphics settings the fans were blasting at full speed. The frame rates seem decent but I not sure of the FPS. It did not look like the trailers I have seen. I was very disappointed with the clouds. I not sure If I jumping on board yet.
I tried the beta again and with the graphics at medium my machine shutdown on me twice while loading the sim. I was looking at the temperatures while it was loading and the CPU's were all over 200F. I don't know if it because the software is beta or that's the way it is. I finally go it to run by manually setting the fans to full, I not sure if it a good idea to run the machine that way. For now I sticking with X plane 11.
 
  • Wow
Reactions: 4sallypat

vjcinajr

macrumors newbie
Jan 3, 2014
3
4
I have iMac Pro,(2017), 8 core Xeon, 32GB mem, w Radeon Pro Vega 56 8GB graphics. The max Parallels VM config is: 2GB Graphics, 8GB memory, 4 processors. I'm hoping new new Flight Simulator will work fine. I do not have access to the beta so I guess I will just have to wait and see. I want to avoid doing a Boot Camp.
 

dimme

macrumors 68000
Feb 14, 2007
1,970
8,147
SF, CA
I have iMac Pro,(2017), 8 core Xeon, 32GB mem, w Radeon Pro Vega 56 8GB graphics. The max Parallels VM config is: 2GB Graphics, 8GB memory, 4 processors. I'm hoping new new Flight Simulator will work fine. I do not have access to the beta so I guess I will just have to wait and see. I want to avoid doing a Boot Camp.
I don't think it's gone to work in Parallels, I hope I'm wrong, but in the past I have tried Flight Simulator X in VM fusion and it would not even boot. If a VM is your only option I get the simulator from a source that would give you a refund if it did not run, I believe Steam will do that.
Good Luck
 
  • Like
Reactions: vjcinajr

paleghost

macrumors newbie
Jun 5, 2017
5
2
I've ordered the 2020 27" iMac specifically for MS FS 2020. It's coming the 21 of August. 10 core i9-10700, 64GB RAM, 5700XT GPU with 16 GB memory. I only have room for one machine and need a Mac as my daily driver. I was planning on going the bootcamp route. Any thoughts on whether this config will be able to handle FS2020?
I know I can return the new machine in the first 2 weeks, but I have a buyer for my existing iMac and have to decide on that sale in the next couple of days. Once that sale happens, I'm committed to the 2020 iMac.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Michael Mrak

dimme

macrumors 68000
Feb 14, 2007
1,970
8,147
SF, CA
I've ordered the 2020 27" iMac specifically for MS FS 2020. It's coming the 21 of August. 10 core i9-10700, 64GB RAM, 5700XT GPU with 16 GB memory. I only have room for one machine and need a Mac as my daily driver. I was planning on going the bootcamp route. Any thoughts on whether this config will be able to handle FS2020?
I know I can return the new machine in the first 2 weeks, but I have a buyer for my existing iMac and have to decide on that sale in the next couple of days. Once that sale happens, I'm committed to the 2020 iMac.
From my experience with the alpha and beta and a 2019 27" i9 w/32GB am and a vega 48-8GB ram, the Alpha and Beta will run at medium settings with a average of 30+ FPS. However in my case the fans run at full blast and the temperatures average north of 200F. I also had a few shutdowns due to heat. I use the iMac for photography and other daily chores. I run Xplane in OS X and don't have any problems with heat. I rather not stress out my machine, because of this I am passing on MS Flight Simulator.
 

paleghost

macrumors newbie
Jun 5, 2017
5
2
Thanks for your input. 200F is scary. I've decided to go with the new iMac. If it doesn't workout I'll continue with x-plane 11. I need to run Win10 for some stuff and only. have room for 1 machine. I'll post how FS2020 does or doesn't do on the new iMac.
 
  • Like
Reactions: dimme

4sallypat

macrumors 68020
Sep 16, 2016
2,182
1,863
So Calif
So far this is a scary thread - I was thinking of using Boot Camp with my 16" MBP connected to a Thunderbolt 27" display that together runs warm already just on the Internet.
FS2020 may push it over the thermal limit ?

So now it looks like FS2020 will be put on a PC desktop which I am dreading....

My choice is to stay with Mac and my 27" TB display but if I have to go PC, then i'll have to get a gaming monitor ?

Has anyone tried this 32" curved monitor:
https://www.dell.com/en-us/shop/del...dgf/apd/210-atyt/monitors-monitor-accessories
S3220DGF_group-shot.jpg

The only reason for a Dell monitor is that the PC is a Dell business class computer and I get $100 off any Dell purchase using the Amex Plat card.....
 

oaanesta

macrumors newbie
Aug 19, 2020
1
0
To all of you wondering if FS2020 can run on BootCamp

I tried this yesterday, and on my MacBook 16"

Modelbeskrivelse
ProdukttypeBærbar PC
ModelnavnApple MacBook Pro 16
ProduktserieMacbook Pro
Producentens varekodeMVVK2DK/A
Lanceringsår2019
Processor
Producent CPUIntel
Type processorIntel Core i9
CPU-generation9. generation
Antal kerner8
Hastighed (GHz)2,30
Maks. turbo clockfrekvens (GHz)4,80
CPU cache16 MB
Lagring og hukommelse
RAM typeDDR4
Intern hukommelse RAM (GB)16,00
RAM hastighed (MHz)2 666
LagringstypeSSD
Antal SSDs installeret1
Lagringskapacitet SSD (GB)1000
Total SSDs kapacitet (GB)1 000
Samlet lagringskapacitet (GB)1 000
Grafik
Type grafikkortDedikeret og delt
Producent grafikkort (GPU)AMD
Grafikkort model (GPU)Radeon Pro 5500M
Dedikeret GPU RAM (GB)4
Producent grafikkort - GPU 2Intel
Grafikkort model - GPU 2Intel HD Graphics 630


It was a disaster - even when all graphics was turned off or to lowest settings it lagged so much that it was ridicules.

NB! BootCamp are the only installation (Win 10 to ofcourse and only FS 2020) on the MacBook
 

pldelisle

macrumors 68020
May 4, 2020
2,248
1,489
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
So far this is a scary thread - I was thinking of using Boot Camp with my 16" MBP connected to a Thunderbolt 27" display that together runs warm already just on the Internet.
FS2020 may push it over the thermal limit ?

So now it looks like FS2020 will be put on a PC desktop which I am dreading....

My choice is to stay with Mac and my 27" TB display but if I have to go PC, then i'll have to get a gaming monitor ?

Has anyone tried this 32" curved monitor:
https://www.dell.com/en-us/shop/del...dgf/apd/210-atyt/monitors-monitor-accessories
S3220DGF_group-shot.jpg

The only reason for a Dell monitor is that the PC is a Dell business class computer and I get $100 off any Dell purchase using the Amex Plat card.....
At Dell you must pick the Ultrasharp. The rest of the line up doesn’t worth it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: dimme

maccompaq

macrumors 65816
Mar 6, 2007
1,157
6
Thanks for your input. 200F is scary. I've decided to go with the new iMac. If it doesn't workout I'll continue with x-plane 11. I need to run Win10 for some stuff and only. have room for 1 machine. I'll post how FS2020 does or doesn't do on the new iMac.
Will be interested in how X-Plane 11.50b18 runs on the new iMac with 16GB VRAM.
 
  • Like
Reactions: dimme

thiskiwicanfly

macrumors member
Oct 14, 2015
62
14
NZ
I tried the beta again and with the graphics at medium my machine shutdown on me twice while loading the sim. I was looking at the temperatures while it was loading and the CPU's were all over 200F. I don't know if it because the software is beta or that's the way it is. I finally go it to run by manually setting the fans to full, I not sure if it a good idea to run the machine that way. For now I sticking with X plane 11.

Have you tried on the full release (non-beta) version of FS2020? Perhaps the developers did some enhancement work on the final release product.
 

thiskiwicanfly

macrumors member
Oct 14, 2015
62
14
NZ
I've ordered the 2020 27" iMac specifically for MS FS 2020. It's coming the 21 of August. 10 core i9-10700, 64GB RAM, 5700XT GPU with 16 GB memory. I only have room for one machine and need a Mac as my daily driver. I was planning on going the bootcamp route. Any thoughts on whether this config will be able to handle FS2020?
I know I can return the new machine in the first 2 weeks, but I have a buyer for my existing iMac and have to decide on that sale in the next couple of days. Once that sale happens, I'm committed to the 2020 iMac.

Me too! I'm thinking of getting the same top of the line iMac 2020 27" with 5700XT graphics and want to run FS2020 and City Skylines in bootcamp. This year's iMac has been touted as a good gaming machine! Otherwise, if it lags I'd prefer to save some cash and buy the base model iMac instead (and use FS2020 on XBOX or something) as the iMac will still be fine for my daily productivity. PLEASE let me know if you've tried it using those specs!
 

thiskiwicanfly

macrumors member
Oct 14, 2015
62
14
NZ
To all of you wondering if FS2020 can run on BootCamp

I tried this yesterday, and on my MacBook 16"

Modelbeskrivelse
ProdukttypeBærbar PC
ModelnavnApple MacBook Pro 16
ProduktserieMacbook Pro
Producentens varekodeMVVK2DK/A
Lanceringsår2019
Processor
Producent CPUIntel
Type processorIntel Core i9
CPU-generation9. generation
Antal kerner8
Hastighed (GHz)2,30
Maks. turbo clockfrekvens (GHz)4,80
CPU cache16 MB
Lagring og hukommelse
RAM typeDDR4
Intern hukommelse RAM (GB)16,00
RAM hastighed (MHz)2 666
LagringstypeSSD
Antal SSDs installeret1
Lagringskapacitet SSD (GB)1000
Total SSDs kapacitet (GB)1 000
Samlet lagringskapacitet (GB)1 000
Grafik
Type grafikkortDedikeret og delt
Producent grafikkort (GPU)AMD
Grafikkort model (GPU)Radeon Pro 5500M
Dedikeret GPU RAM (GB)4
Producent grafikkort - GPU 2Intel
Grafikkort model - GPU 2Intel HD Graphics 630


It was a disaster - even when all graphics was turned off or to lowest settings it lagged so much that it was ridicules.

NB! BootCamp are the only installation (Win 10 to ofcourse and only FS 2020) on the MacBook

But are you sure FS2020 was using the Radeon Pro 5500M or Intel HD Graphics 630 as the graphics driver? I noticed both graphics are listed in under your graphics specs.
 

fendersrule

macrumors 6502
Oct 9, 2008
421
321
Absolutely no chance, OP.

I'm going to get my father to install it on his 2017 iMac, which has a Radeon 580 Pro (8GB) and a 4-core i5 7600. His computer has a "chance" I would argue at "low" at 1080p, but anything iMac under these specs I would say there is no chance.

The best PC available nowadays cannot even get 60 FPS on ultra, if that helps put some of this into perspective. :)

This kinda is the new "Mankind Divided" if you've been following benchmarks!
 
  • Like
Reactions: pldelisle

jwp2222

macrumors newbie
Jan 24, 2015
11
1
Tempted to get a new 2020 if I can play FS2020 in boot camp but hoping someone else tries it first. ;) please update this thread if you do!
 

Macelicous

macrumors newbie
Aug 25, 2020
1
4
Hi,
I am running FS2020 on bootcamp and like to share my experience:
Win10 is installed on an external SSD (EFI Boot).
My system:
iMac 2019 5k
i5 6 core 3,7ghz
40GB Ram
Radeon 580x 8GB

FS 2020 is running with 2560x1440, 5k is of course not possible. Even a 2080TI Super has its problems with 4k.
Overall quality: High
Thats all that I set up. I did not have the time to adjust each graphic option individually to get more fps. Without measure the fps, the game looks smooth and I enjoy playing. Might be something around 20-25fps, but hey, it is a simulation and not a shooter ;)

The fans are running on full speed, but that makes flying even more realistic :D
 

hwojtek

macrumors 68000
Jan 26, 2008
1,540
553
Poznan, Poland
Parallels VM config is: 2GB Graphics, 8GB memory, 4 processors. I'm hoping new new Flight Simulator will work fine.

No way. It requires a real video adapter with advanced GPU capabilities, not a virtualised one - even though Parallels allows for running DX11 games. The game will max out this computer even if Windows ran on bare metal.
 
  • Like
Reactions: pldelisle
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.