iMac Configuration Help - M390 or M395?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by alexmshore, Oct 13, 2015.

  1. alexmshore macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi,

    I am going to order a new iMac and am struggling to decide on whether its worth it to go for the M395 or just stick with the M390? Looking to see if anyone has any idea if there is much of a performance difference?

    Will be used as a second machine just for general computing (email, web, iTunes, iBooks, iPhoto etc) no gaming or anything too serious. Planned configuration is 27-inch, i7, 256 Flash drive. Looking for about 4-5 years use.

    Thanks for the advice.
     
  2. alexxk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    #2
    Same configuration as I'm thinking for myself. I do however edit big RAW image files using lightroom and Photoshop!!

    Still deciding as well.. not easy!!

    For your needs I don't even think you need an i7. It should be great for what you need..
     
  3. MandiMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #3
    If that is your usage, both the i7 and the M390 would be ridiculously overpowered. SSD is a great choice.
     
  4. fathergll macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #4
    You would need to wait for actual real world benchmarks before having any 100% recommendation but I’d say for your usage M390 should be fine. I7 is overkill but if you have the cash to burn then have fun.
     
  5. dandrewk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Location:
    San Rafael, California
    #5
    If you do a lot of post processing large RAW files, you'd be far better off with the upgraded GPU. The extra 2 GB Vram makes a huge difference.

    I have the 2014 iMac Retina 27", fully loaded. The m295 GPU is virtually identical to the M395 (only difference it the M395 has the capacity of up to 8 GB Vram, something Apple is not offering). I can tell you I'd love a faster GPU for heavy RAW lifting in LR.
     
  6. benzslrpee macrumors 6502

    benzslrpee

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    #6
    i thought Lightroom sort of neglects the GPU? i recall more than a couple of threads here that concluded a faster CPU was the way to go for PS and LR. anyway, glad to be wrong on this if LR has been updated to use the gpu more

     
  7. dandrewk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Location:
    San Rafael, California
    #7
    Indeed, LR 6 supports GPU acceleration, a VERY welcome upgrade. It makes a huge difference when working in develop mode.

    A faster processor also helps a lot. Remember, photo processors have to throw around 4x more pixels vs. the pre-Retina 27" iMacs. That's a lot of pixels.
     
  8. alexxk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    #8

    It was my understanding that the most important aspect to edit in Lightroom RAW files was CPU power.. that's why im getting the i7.

    GPU I thought it was more for gaming.. that's why.. I will be really tight in money if I go 395X cause I'm actually thinking in getting the 512SSD as well.
     
  9. itfiend macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    #9
    As someone with a 4K monitor on my i7 PC I can safely say that introducing the GPU acceleration made an enormous difference in camera RAW.
     
  10. dandrewk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Location:
    San Rafael, California
    #10
    This is not the case anymore with LR 6. It supports GPU's.

    I was running LR 5 on my iMac Retina. It's far quicker with LR 6 and is equally as fast as Photoshop.

    It's a tough choice, because it really adds to the cost. But doing post processing with hi resolution images on a high resolution screen demands a high performance computer. Better to bite the bullet, even if it means no college for the kids this year. :D
     
  11. alexxk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    #11
    Really got me thinking. I might wait a bit then until B&H starts receiving them. That way I will save around 250 bucks in taxes. That's a big chunk!!
     
  12. Sirmausalot macrumors 6502a

    Sirmausalot

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    #12
    Another way to look at it: do you get paid for your work? If so, then you max it out. If not, then it's a hobby and it is your choice.
     
  13. alexxk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    #13
    For now I don't get paid.. but i'm putting myself out there to work ;)
     
  14. ChinkyBob macrumors regular

    ChinkyBob

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    #14
    Always try to max it out. That way next time you are sat their looking at the spinning wheel you won't be thinking if this would have happened had you upgraded further. At least you know you got the best you could at the time.
    If you are going to spend that much money just go the whole whole hog.
     
  15. ChinkyBob macrumors regular

    ChinkyBob

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    #15
    ....Actually. In my case I have always regretted buying a lesser version. I have never regretted buying state of the art.
     

Share This Page