iMac CPU Fan problem!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by faneos, Aug 3, 2012.

  1. faneos macrumors member

    faneos

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    #1
    When I start my iMac CPU fan run at full speed istat menus shows 0 rpm temperatures and and everything else seems normal I did a SMC reset problem stays I tried a SMC reset again and i will leave the machine off all night and i open it in the morning anyone have an idea whats wrong?:(
     
  2. ivoruest macrumors 6502

    ivoruest

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Location:
    Guatemala
    #2
    Either your iMac is clogged with dust or the fan broke. Take it to Apple Store.
     
  3. faneos, Aug 3, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2012

    faneos thread starter macrumors member

    faneos

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    #3
    I am unemployed now no money for apple store.There is a chance of defected cpu fan or software related error or anyone has an idea??
     
  4. Dadioh macrumors 65816

    Dadioh

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    Canada Eh?
    #4
    It may be the PRAM that you need to reset, rather than the SMC. See instructions below. Basically unplug power cord, hold power button on for a few seconds, release power button, plug power cord back in, and hit power button to start. I believe that fan controls are stored in PRAM.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1379
     
  5. faneos thread starter macrumors member

    faneos

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    #5
    I read a solution to remove the motherboard battery to reset it what your opinion ?
     
  6. Dadioh macrumors 65816

    Dadioh

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    Canada Eh?
    #6
    I believe pram reset achieves the same thing and you don't have to open up the iMac. I assume the idea of removing the motherboard battery is so that the info concerning the fans and temp sensors is cleared. Pram reset does that.
     
  7. lexvo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    I had a similar problem, turned out that the temperature sensor of the HDD was broken (even though iStat reported CPU fan). The HDD needed to be replaced to fix this (luckily I have AppleCare).
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
  9. Dadioh macrumors 65816

    Dadioh

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    Canada Eh?
    #9
    My mistake. Could have sworn it was PRAM I was resetting a while back when troubleshooting a fan issue on my Mac Pro. But then again I almost always reset both pram and smc when working on an issue.
     

Share This Page