iMac CPU Problems Maveriks

Discussion in 'iMac' started by SKATE4LIFE, Oct 10, 2014.

  1. SKATE4LIFE macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #1
    iMac late 2009 - 3,06ghz - intel core 2 duo - 8gb ram - 10.9.5

    i really upgraded to maveriks like 6 months ago, saw strange photoshop told me always this popup
    then 1 week ago i updated my mac ram 4gb more for better editing, you notice it's better but i tought it would be more, i can't really playback fluid

    i always noticed my mac was very hot more these times in summer

    today u used davinci resolve colour grading software and..
    these appeared

    [​IMG]

    so i thought that would help, did it, restart and...

    [​IMG]

    didn't do much, still problems and didn't even playback...


    so, read online dust is problematic, do i need to open it and clean it?
    is it mavericks? (i think so, those popups didn't open before) but i tought mavericks was better with ram and cpu because it knew how to lower levels of usage and compress....


    what do you guys that use heavy programs do? do you have mavericks?
    i have istats menue, now its at 50ºc, i bumped up the fans to max rpm to test (noisy...) but temp was same nearly

    okay my hdd is full and i need to clean, also i use it every day but i see the best a downgrade or clean or waht ?
     
  2. antman2x2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    New YAWK
    #2
    Yikes! This is why ill be holding off for a few weeks when its officially released.
     
  3. SKATE4LIFE thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #3
    i think you are confusing yosemite, i have mavericks, used to have mountain lion!

    but yeah,never update first not even in 1month
     
  4. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #4
    You can't do anything. Your iMac does not have enough GPU power for the software to run, hence the popup saying that you don't have enough GPU power.

    Your iMac only has 256MB of integrated NVIDIA 9400M or 256MB of dedicated Radeon 4670.

    A downgrade wouldn't work either. Your hardware is too old to support the software.
     
  5. SKATE4LIFE, Oct 11, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2014

    SKATE4LIFE thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #5
    ahh... that makes sense, thanks..

    But how is it that before i could use photoshop 3d or the other one without problems?... it was all cs6 o cc nearly the same :confused:


    i can upgrade it to
    512 MB GDDR3 SDRAM

    worth...?

    where are they cheep? or is si even easy to change?
     
  6. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #6
    I don't think you can upgrade the graphics card. Even if you could, it's not worth it. Your CPU is very outdated (Core 2 Duo) already, and the iMac itself is too old.

    Save up and buy a late-2013 refurb iMac.
     
  7. SKATE4LIFE thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #7
    Ugh... thanks yes well maybe ill get windows for better bang of the buck and hackintoshit
     

Share This Page