iMac DDR3 RAM

Discussion in 'iMac' started by sultanoflondon, Dec 23, 2013.

  1. sultanoflondon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    #1
    Hi all,

    I was using my iMac on iMovie earlier and noticed some lagging. I opened up Activity Monitor and saw that iMovie was using over 1GB of RAM!

    Started considering upgrading RAM. I thought that adding the same RAM that Apple ships the computer with would be advisable and wise, so I was wondering which brand Apple uses? Where could I get the same? I'm in the UK by the way.

    Thanks a lot in advance.
     
  2. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #2
    You don't need Apple's ram ..IIRC they use Hynix, but any reputable maker's ram is fine.
     
  3. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #3
    Apple uses a couple of different brands of memory. The brand doesn't matter, using the same spec ram from a reputable third party is fine.
     
  4. sultanoflondon thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    #4
    Hi all.

    Thanks a lot for all of your replies.

    I have some info here and I would like to present it to all of you to see which one is recommended the most.

    KINGSTON:

    8GB Module - DDR3 1600MHz
    Part Number: KTA-MB1600/8G
    Specs: DDR3, 1600MHz, Non-ECC, CL11, 1.5V, Unbuffered, SODIMM, 204-pin
    Buy

    8GB Module - DDR3L 1600MHz
    Part Number: KTA-MB1600L/8G
    Specs: DDR3L, 1600MHz, Non-ECC, CL11, 1.35V, Unbuffered, SODIMM, 204-pin

    For the Kingston, I don't know the difference between the DDR3 and the DDR3L RAM Modules, could someone please explain? Which one would be better for my iMac?


    CRUCIAL:

    16GB kit (8GBx2)
    DDR3 PC3-12800 • CL=11 • Unbuffered • NON-ECC • DDR3-1600 • 1.35V • 1024Meg x 64 • lead free • halogen free • for Mac • Part #: CT3650255


    CORSAIR:

    Corsair Mac Memory — 16GB Dual Channel DDR3L SODIMM Memory Kit (CMSA16GX3M2A1600C11)

    •Tested Latency: 11-11-11-30 •Memory Type: DDR3L •Speed Rating: PC3-12800 (1600MHz)

    Corsair Mac Memory — 16GB Dual Channel DDR3 SODIMM Memory Kit (CMSA16GX3M2A1333C9)

    •Tested Latency: 9-9-9-24 •Memory Type: DDR3 •Speed Rating: PC3-10600 (1333MHz)

    One last thing, what are DIMMS and what is SoDIMM

    Any advice given is much appreciated.

    Thanks.
     
  5. Twimfy macrumors 6502a

    Twimfy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Just go to crucials website and use their downloadable ram checker app.

    Buy what ever they recommend, doesn't have to be their stuff though, if you can find it elsewhere cheaper then it's win win.
     
  6. Dreadnought, Dec 24, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2013

    Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #6
    Please read some of the other threads about iMac's ram. There was a recent discussion about 1.5V and 1.35V DDR3 RAM. Some iMac's don't like the 1.5V modules and caused problems.

    I recently upgraded my 2010 iMac (27", i7). It came standard with 2x 2GB RAM modules, I've added another 2x 2GB modules from ICIDU. It was the cheapest here in the Netherlands at a local retailer. Works fine for me and 8 GB is enough for me.

    If you're going to do a lot of video editing, get more RAM. In that case, the more the better!
    About the latency, lower = better. So having 9x9x9 is good and I believe Apple's RAM is the same, at least in my iMac. However, this could have increased to 11 as the speed of your RAM modules is higher.

    SODIMMS are for laptops and are shorter than regular DIMMS. The iMac uses laptop (SODIMM) RAM. It also has less pins than regular RAM modules for full size computers.

    BTW, I always like to have the same amount of RAM on each module. In some computers this can increase speed with a small margin. However, always put RAM in pairs of RAM in an iMac, so 2x the same module, the other pair can be of a different size.

    In short, the Corsair and Crucial RAM both sound good. Kingston is also a very good brand, but is sometimes more expensive and in the past I had some weird experience with it as it gave strange errors or wasn't recognized by my previous Mac.
     
  7. sultanoflondon thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    #7
    Okay thanks for all the replies, I will check out the other threads and have a look!

    Thanks once again!
     
  8. Tumbleweed666 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Location:
    Near London, UK.
    #8
    I'm in the uk also, used crucials wizard on their website (no need to download anything) and bought their ram, as I understand it, it's best to put the memory in in pairs, eg if you want to put 4 more gb in, 2x 2gb rather than 1 4 gb module , 8gb = 2 x 4 gb modules, etc.
    As you are in the uk, if you go to Crucial via the Quidco website (eg start there rather than at Crucial) , you can get a few pounds off by way of a rebate. You do need to sign up to it though.
     
  9. sultanoflondon thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    #9

    Okay thanks for that, Sir. Will have a look.
     

Share This Page