iMac died after ram upgrade? *video*

Discussion in 'iMac' started by deafgoose, Oct 20, 2011.

  1. deafgoose macrumors regular

    deafgoose

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #1
    I upgraded my ram today from 4GB to 8GB. I used my computer all day long without any issues.

    Then I noticed I could not open .pdf files with Preview, it would only open in Photoshop. I tried to open .jpg files in Preview with no luck.

    I figured I would reboot my computer and this is what I got.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cKdFTO3o5U4

    I removed the ram and no improvement.
     
  2. deafgoose thread starter macrumors regular

    deafgoose

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #2
    I really doubt this is caused by the ram upgrade. I am guessing its just a coincidence.

    If I leave the screen flshing like that, I can access all my files from the network so its a display issue.
     
  3. tarku macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #3
    try booting into your recovery partition, and see if it does it there as well.

    if it does, then take it into a AASP/Apple store, since there is some troubleshooting that requires to dismantle the machine.

    looking into the issue, there really isn't anything issue tied with flickering screen like that and RAM from what I saw, but I am assuming your iMac is 2011 model
     
  4. deafgoose thread starter macrumors regular

    deafgoose

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #4
    I was able to boot from my setup cd and there was no flickering.

    I have an Apple Time Capsule running Time Machine so I will be doing a system restore.

    Thanks for your help!

    FYI: the iMac is a late 2009 model
     
  5. deafgoose thread starter macrumors regular

    deafgoose

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #5
    Update:

    My system restore fixed the problem. Thank god (Steve) for the Time Machine!
     
  6. Mr. McMac Suspended

    Mr. McMac

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Location:
    Far away from liberals
    #6
    I hate when that happens. Good thing it's fixed now :)
     

Share This Page