Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MNRXguy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 7, 2011
Hello all. I just got my first iMac today. I absolutely love it except for one thing. It keeps on disconnecting from by wireless home network. It currently is wirelessly connected to my 4 year old Netgear wireless router. I'm not sure if the problem is with the router or the iMac. When the iMac disconnects, I can still get a wireless signal with my iPod Touch. Also, when I connect the iMac to the router via ethernet cable, I still can't get it to connect. The only thing that seems to work is to turn off the air port and then turn it back on. Having to do this every 15 minutes is a bit of a pain. Is there a wireless setting that I"m overlooking? I'm new to the Apple computer world, so I'm sure there's a good chance I have something set up incorrectly. Maybe my router is junk. Would it be a good idea to pick up a new Apple wireless router? Thanks for the help!

MNRXguy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 7, 2011
I should also mention that when the internet stops responding, the wireless network setting window says the AirPort is "connected".

morty192

macrumors regular
Jul 26, 2010
I also get this the odd time. I'm using a BT Home Hub and figured it was just the Hub

Dresevski

macrumors 6502
May 6, 2011
Minnesnowda
At my work the office uses 17" MBP's and a netgear router of some kind...they all have odd problems almost daily with the internet. Someone usually unplugs it to reboot and things work again for a while. On the other hand I have the Airport Extreme at home and it never fails to keep my MBP connected.

I just assume it has something to do with the manufacturer. Apple stuff seems to always work perfectly with other Apple stuff, you know?

loves2travel

macrumors member
May 19, 2010
hard time connecting to the internet