iMac Disk Clone

Discussion in 'iMac' started by lightsout, Aug 28, 2008.

  1. lightsout macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    #1
    Need some help!

    I've got an iMac, last one white one before aluminum ones, and I'm going upgrade the disk. I've got a new disk and know how to disassemble my iMac to fit it.

    I want to use carbon copy cloner, but here is where I have a problem. I can't get both disks to my iMac at once to do the clone. I don't have any USB/firewall external enclosures I can use either. So any suggestions? I've got a Windows PC handy which I could connect both to - is there a imaging program for Windows that handles Mac partitions?

    Advice welcome! Thanks!
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    You are better off just getting a $14 external HD connector to do this. Windows and FAT32 like to screw up Mac Data.

    TEG
     
  3. Fonzijr1964 macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #3
    new egg 12.99
     
  4. lightsout thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
  5. 4JNA macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #5
    cheapest in-stock i saw at newegg was closer to $30.

    lots of places selling the same thing. here's one at Geeks for $12.99 plus shipping. anyway you get the idea

    plug in the adapter, fire up the imac, clone away. best of luck.
     
  6. Fonzijr1964 macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
  7. lightsout thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    #8
    Thanks, I got the Sabrent one from Amazon in the end. That should make life nice and easy anyway!
     
  8. kalex macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #9
    yep having external case would help alot. your other option is to make an image file and store it somewhere on the network, but its pain, external case is alot easier to work with
     
  9. lightsout thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    #10
    The real hard part was taking the iMac apart - I swear Apple could have made it a bit easier! Taking the screen out with that protective shielding wasn't fun!

    Anyway, all works and XBench is showing some more speed too which is nice.

    One "issue" - my Time Capsule is now going to take a backup of the whole drive, which is obviously a bit of a waste. Is there anything I can do to convince Time Machine to only do an incremental? I did a clone using Carbon Copier in file mode as it wouldn't work in block mode.
     

Share This Page