Imac Doesn't recognize New RAM

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by bsal, Jun 28, 2007.

1. bsal macrumors newbie

my computer:
    Imac G5 17 inch wide screen, built-in Isight, ppc, 1.9 GHz, comes with 512 mb memory, os x 10.4.10

I decided to upgrade my memory being that I'm a digital artist and work with a lot of software, so several weeks ago I bought a 2 Gig RAM from a company called Edge Tech -through one of its online distributors Computer Memory Outlet. The RAM meets all the specs for compatibility: PC24200 nonecc unbuffered, 240 pin DDR2. I installed the module, but it did not show up on my Mac. I checked to make sure it was installed properly and even reset to pram, but had no luck. Edge Tech told me that the RAM was defective and set up a return for replacement. I got the new, replaced RAM a few days ago and my mac is still not recognizing it. Has anyone else ran into a similar problem? Would you say it's the vendor or my computer. If it's my computer, what could it be? Also, could it be that my model has problems with 3rd party RAM? Sorry about the bombardment of questions, but I've been dealing with this for over a month and I need this resolved ASAP. Thanks so much for any help

2. Schroedinger macrumors regular

Schroedinger

Are you absolutely sure that you've installed the RAM correctly? Furthermore, what happens if you pull out the stock Apple RAM and put the new stuff in that slot?

3. bsal thread starter macrumors newbie

I'm absolutely sure I've installed the RAM correctly. I didn't try to switch slots yet though.

4. banjomamo macrumors regular

If that doesnt work, you can run an Apple Hardware test off of the Mac OSX install disc but it will take a long time to test the RAM. It could just be defective and needs to be replaced. Theres also another Free RAM testing app called Member (I think).

I know that on the Mac Pros and Power Macs RAM has to be installed in pairs. Not sure if its the same on an iMac though.