iMac doesn't see Right mouse button

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Mikebike125, Jan 10, 2015.

  1. Mikebike125 macrumors 6502

    Mikebike125

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #1
    This is odd. I wanted to change the configuration of my three button Logitech mouse (wired mouse) that I have connected to my iMac and although the right button is working, the System preferences pane shows a TWO button mouse. In System preferences I used to see a much larger screen for setting up the mouse where I could select what each one of the buttons functions were. Now it just shows a simple mouse. How can I get it to detect that my mouse is a three button?

    Using Mavericks and a Logitec M-BD53. I know the mouse is old, but the mouse is working but I can't see the proper configuration screen.

    HELP!!
     
  2. b0fh666 macrumors 6502a

    b0fh666

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Location:
    south
    #2
    install bettertouchtool and see if it helps you
     
  3. Mikebike125 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Mikebike125

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #3
    Will that correct the system preferences so that the third button shows up?
     
  4. dwig macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Location:
    Key West FL
    #4
    Questions:

    • Was your iMac "born" with Mavericks or did you upgrade from an earlier OS?
    • Have you seen the old larger Preferences panel when running Maverick or was it last seen before an OS upgrade?

    If you've upgraded to Mavericks and haven't seen the 3-button panel since before the upgrade it may be that you had an additional Logitech driver installed that didn't survive the upgrade. Mavericks will disable incompatible 3rd-party drivers during upgrade; it doesn't automagically find a new updated replacement driver. I suggest that you contact Logitech and download a new driver for the mouse if one is available for Mavericks.
     
  5. b0fh666 macrumors 6502a

    b0fh666

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Location:
    south
    #5
    nope, but it will probably let you configure your mouse to do whatever you want.
     

Share This Page