iMac Drive Wipe - El Capitan

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Freis968, Oct 31, 2015.

  1. Freis968 macrumors 6502a

    Freis968

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Location:
    Winter Park, Florida
    #1
    I bought a new 5k iMac and need to take my old iMac [Late 2013] in for the HD replacement recall.

    I cannot find a way to wipe out my 3TB fusion drive as I was able to with old version of Disk Utility. I was able to wipe the HD and then use Recovery to reinstall the OS last time I sold my last iMac.

    Also, I have to enter my username and password when reinstalling El Capitan.

    My main concern is wiping the 3TB hard drive, I would feel better making sure the contents of the drive are ANNIHILATED first.

    I assume Apple will destroy the drive and then send back to Seagate for credit but would prefer the aforementioned safeguard just in case.
     
  2. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #2
    use filevault and don't give them the password or recovery key, and do a simple erase. its the best thing you can do when you cant do a secure wipe , other then the physical destruction of the ssd module. you can always find a utility and do 4096 i guess!


    if you install the OS X and turn it off when it says reboot ?? before you enter a user name and password ? it will say welcome to os x !
     
  3. DavidDoyle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    #3
    Can you boot from El Capitan install media and get to a Terminal from the install screens? That would then enable you to use Terminal commands to achieve a secure wipe:

    http://www.macworld.com/article/1139688/erasefreespace.html

    Omit the 'freespace' parameter and you wipe the entire drive.

    (Update) Just tested and yes you can get to 'Terminal' under 'Utilities' in the install screen.
     
  4. Freis968 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Freis968

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Location:
    Winter Park, Florida
    #4
    I tried doing this earlier and I am not a "power user" and could not get it to work.

    If you don't mind, can you tell me exactly what to type in Terminal? I have the 3TB fusion HD
     
  5. Freis968 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Freis968

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Location:
    Winter Park, Florida
    #5
    I am unable to install El Capitan without putting in my username and pw...is there a way around this?
     
  6. AppleNewton macrumors 68000

    AppleNewton

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    1 Finite Place
    #6
    are you booting to the built in recovery partition or are you pressing Command Option R to boot into internet recovery and then you can wipe the drive securely. you can't do it if your booted to the local recovery partition.

    or if you have a firewire cable, connect both Macs, 5K iMac log into the desktop and the 3TB iMac startup holding T key and enter target disk mode and erase it from the new iMac. i wouldn't even worry about creating an OS install. Apple can do that if they absolutely need otherwise they will boot it off their own server.
     

Share This Page