iMac early 2009 troubles...Is it time for a new one?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by rhaeny, Sep 29, 2013.

1. rhaeny macrumors newbie

I have a early 2009 iMac, 24inch display, 640 gig HD, 8G ram, 2.66 GHz intel core 2 duo running on Lion. And in the last few months it has been freezing up, spinning beach ball is a constant visitor, and the display gradually has been getting streaks in the upper mid to left section (looks like swirls) of the screen. Since I am relatively new to Mac's, I have followed some of the basic advice such as repairing permissions and repairing the disk. I have also used Onyx to check the disk and it says it's ok.

My usage of it is surfing the net, email, running microsoft office and other basic applications. I do have parallels installed and whenever I launch it, the computer is so slow that it has driven me to drink. Even after I quit parallels the only way to get the memory back is to restart it. I know because when I check the activity monitor it has very little ram available.

So my question is, should I try to upgrade this machine with more ram and maybe another hard drive or should I just sell it and buy a new one? I am totally mac'd out right now with my iMac, MBP, iPhone and iPad. So when I made the switch 2 years ago I went all out.

But the slowness of this computer is driving me nuts. Also sometimes my MBP slows down as well. I'm wondering is it time to do a fresh install on it. It's a 15 inch early 2011, 2 GHz intel core i7, 8G ram and 500g HD running Lion also. I mean its nothing like the iMac in slowness but I have noticed that it has slowed down from when I first got it.

Any advice is welcome. Thank you.

2. stiligFox macrumors 65816

stiligFox