iMac EFI 1.6 update

Discussion in 'iMac' started by philo23, May 13, 2011.

  1. philo23, May 13, 2011
    Last edited: May 13, 2011

    philo23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    #1
    My brand new built-to-order i7 iMac arrived today, it worked beautifully for about 30 minutes until I decided to apply the EFI update. It did the standard reboot and then proceeded to show the progress bar for installing the EFI updates.

    But something's clearly screwed up, it played the dreadful Power on self test beeps. 3 short beeps followed by 3 long beeps (then a few more?). From what I've read that suggests there's no good boot images. (here's clip of it)

    I've tried resetting the PRAM using the CMD + ALT + P + R combination at startup but it's obvious the keyboard isn't responding or the EFI update screen runs before anything really loads.

    So I was just wondering if anyone has any ideas how to reset the boot image back, or if I should just chalk it up to really bad luck on the hardware/update and take it into the apple store.

    I was looking forward to using this machine, but it doesn't seem like that's going to be the case…
     
  2. orangewall macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #2
    Received my imac today aswell, i also did the efi update.
    Myn made one longer beep, then booted just fine, nothing seems wrong with it.


     
  3. philo23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    #3
    That's actually what happened to mine, the first time. Now it just loops :/

     
  4. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #4
    Take it to an Apple store and they'll sort you out.
     
  5. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #5
    Just call Applecare, no need to drive to a store.
     
  6. tsugaru macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Edmonton
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Hmm. Mine came with it pre-applied.
    6Gbps is enabled though.

    Hope AppleCare can fix it for you. Firmware screwups can be bad news.
     
  7. philo23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    #7
    Just a quick update everyone.

    Took it into an Apple Store, after playing about with different sets of RAM sticks in the 4 different RAM slots, they where pretty convinced it was the logic board. Unfortunately they also told me that they couldn't replace it or fix it in-store because it was a custom build-to-order that I made online and that I'd need to contact the online apple store to have it shipped back and replaced with a new one.

    So I ring up the online Apple Store and the technician walks me through trying to reset the PRAM / reinstall Snow Leopard, after thoroughly convincing her that the keyboard didn't respond to any key strokes and that it was just going to EFI flashing screen constantly, they forwarded me onto after sales. Who promptly put the phone down on me.

    It could of been bad reception on my phone or a mistake on their side, but either way you'd expect them to at least try ringing you back within 24 hours. So I've rang up again, and hopefully this will all be sorted out soon, along with a hard drive upgrade for my troubles and more than an entire week of no computer.

    I'll let you all know how it goes on from here some time in the future...
     

Share This Page