iMac entered Front Row, won't exit!!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by rogersmj, Aug 6, 2007.

  1. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #1
    This is the second time this has happened, although the two occurrences have been months apart. I was working on my iMac, listening to iTunes and doing a mockup in Illustrator, when suddenly, for no apparent reason, the damn thing enters Front Row. That wouldn't be such a big deal if only I could now EXIT Front Row -- but I can't. No keys respond on the Bluetooth keyboard except for the volume keys, and after about 1 minute the Bluetooth connection lost message appears on the screen (batteries are fresh). So I go and dig up my wired keyboard, plug it in, and still can only use the volume controls. Tried exiting Front Row with Cmd-Escape, Cmd-Tab, F11, F12, etc...none of it works. Using the remote does not work. I don't want to hard-reboot...IM messages from work have come in and I've got unsaved work in Illustrator! Any ideas?
     
  2. todd2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Location:
    Danville, VA
    #2
    Try Ctrl + Opt + Cmd + Esc (All at once)

    Thats how I exit front row when it freezes, and it works every time. Doesn't even do it's pretty exit it just disappears and brings back the desktop.
     
  3. • Jaz • macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #3
    ^ Good tip, I tried Ctrl + Alt + Cmd + Esc and it worked, useful for when it freezes frequently. :)
     
  4. rogersmj thread starter macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
  5. todd2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Location:
    Danville, VA
    #5
    Yeah, I actually just started using front row, and I noticed it freezes if you try to scroll through a menu of videos too fast etc... Apple really needs to make a way to force quit Front Row from the remote, like hold menu for 5 seconds or something.
     
  6. fredsherbet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Hertford, England
  7. todd2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Location:
    Danville, VA
    #7
    Well yes....... but just incase it freezes, a force quit option would be nice :)
     
  8. misbehavens macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #8
    How to force quit front row

    Sometimes front row will freeze and not respond to any of the normal key commands.

    To force quit front row, use command+option+escape
     

Share This Page