iMac + External Display + PS3 = ???

Discussion in 'iMac' started by TheKomputerGeek, Nov 14, 2010.

  1. TheKomputerGeek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    #1
    I currently have an iMac (Early 2009, 24 inch), and I'm about to buy a PS3... However, I was wondering if I could hook up the PS3 to my iMac. However, after doing some research, it appears that the PS3 resolution will be scaled down or not even work... So, I was wondering if I bought an external moniter (At this link), could I connect the PS3 to it?

    Also, If I also wanted to use it for a second display for my iMac, would I have to disconnect the PS3 and reconnect my iMac, and visa versa, or could I just turn off the PS3?
     
  2. Muzz112 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    That would be fine to use with a PS3 and an iMac! My friend has the same monitor and uses it with an xbox (via hdmi) and his laptop via the VGA port. As long as you have the correct cables to get it from the iMac you'll be fine.
     
  3. MarshallRA macrumors newbie

    MarshallRA

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    #3
    PS3 would work with that monitor because the monitor has a HDMI input, according to Dell. The monitor also appears to have a VGA input and a DVI input, so if I were you I would connect the iMac to a mini displayport to DVI adapter, then have a DVI cable connecting the monitor to the DVI end of the adapter, and have a HDMI cable going from the PS3 into the monitor. Hope this helps :cool:
     
  4. biggd macrumors 6502

    biggd

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary
    #4
    Boo to PS3

    What I've done is iMac + flat screen 26' TV, and then xbox to TV.
    It acts like a second screen for WoW, or i can toggle to my xbox and play.

    It's alotta fun, you'll burn your eyes out!
     
  5. TheKomputerGeek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    #5
    Muzz112: Thanks. Glad to know that it should work.
    MarshallRA: Thanks for the help on hooking it up :) Hope I can get it working soon.
    biggd: Thanks, but I think I'll stick with PS3...
     
  6. TheKomputerGeek, Nov 14, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2010

    TheKomputerGeek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    #6
    Also...
    If I have some speakers hooked up to my iMac (I do, I just forgot about them when I posted earlier), how can I get the sound from the PS3 games to play on those speakers rather than the ones on the monitor? The speakers plug into the headphone port on my iMac.

    EDIT: Oops, sorry for the double post I didn't realize that I had...
     
  7. MarshallRA macrumors newbie

    MarshallRA

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    #7
    I dont think its possible for the PS3 audio to come out of the other speakers (that are hooked up to the iMac), because correct me if im wrong, but the PS3 only has 2 outputs, HDMI and Composite, and no audio output other than that. If it did, if you wanted to use the speakers with the PS3, you would have to unplug it from the iMac and vice versa.
     
  8. TheKomputerGeek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    #8
    MarshallRA: Thanks for your help now and earlier. I was just wondering, since the sound would be coming out of the second monitor's speakers... which is hooked up to my iMac... which is hooked up to the speakers. So, I was just wondering if there was any way to force the sound out from the speakers. Or, I guess, I could just get a splitter, couldn't I?
     
  9. MarshallRA macrumors newbie

    MarshallRA

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    #9
    Long version: The PS3 audio would come out of the external monitors speakers, because the PS3 does not know the iMac is hooked up to the other port and it does not really care. I dont think there is anyway for the PS3 to output audio to the external speaker you happen to own because the PS3 can only put audio through HDMI, and Composite (but you will use HDMI because composite sucks in quality and the monitor does not have a composite in), you would not be able to plug the PS3 into the speakers.

    Short version: There is no way to connect the PS3 to the external speakers, but it will output to the external monitors speakers through HDMI.

    You should check to see if the monitor you are getting has speakers or not.

    Hope I cleared it up for you, enjoy your PS3 with your monitor. I happen to be receiving a monitor too, and will play my Xbox 360 on it in 1920x1080. The monitor im getting is a ASUS VH236H.
     
  10. capebud1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    #10
    Not a bad idea. I would do the same except I have limited desktop space. Since I'm hoping to get a new iMac soon (2011 version), perhaps it will have better scalable resolution settings (and HDMI) to support Xbox 360 and PS3.
     
  11. TheKomputerGeek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    #11
    MarshallRA: Thanks for the in-depth explanation. Now that you've explained that, I found another monitor that has no speakers. So, would it work then? Or is it still a no go?
     
  12. TheKomputerGeek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
  13. Meever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    #13
    I don't know what you guys are talking about XD

    You can just plug the ps3 into the speakers without any problem. you have composite, and an optical port. You will have to get the appropriate cables to hook up to your respectable ports.
     
  14. MarshallRA macrumors newbie

    MarshallRA

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    #14
    Sorry for long time without replying.

    The PS3 will still play video on the monitor you are looking at now (the 23 inch one) but wont play audio (cause it got no speakers), and the PS3 still wont be able to play audio on the external speakers.

    Hope this helps.
     
  15. TheKomputerGeek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    #15
    Hmmm... even if the monitor has speakers plugged into it? According to the images of the monitor, it has an audio in and an audio out. It wouldn't work even if I plugged the speakers directly into there?
     
  16. TheKomputerGeek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010

Share This Page