iMac fails to boot at all...

jman2k

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 27, 2015
Good afternoon all,

I am stuck and in need of some help...

I have a Core2Duo 3.06 27' iMac that fails to get past the spinning gear screen...Worked fine then just froze once before failing now to boot at all..

I have tried to boot into safe mode - just get a grey screen asking for normal password which I enter, to which it then just goes back to the spinning gear..
I have tried single user mode - no joy
I have tried target disk from another 27" iMac no joy
I have put the original discs in to try and boot from disc for a restore etc no joy...

Bit lost now and any ideas very much welcomed.. Simple language though as I am a novice lol

Regards

J

rkaufmann87

macrumors 68000
Dec 17, 2009
Folsom, CA
Good afternoon all,

I am stuck and in need of some help...

I have a Core2Duo 3.06 27' iMac that fails to get past the spinning gear screen...Worked fine then just froze once before failing now to boot at all..

I have tried to boot into safe mode - just get a grey screen asking for normal password which I enter, to which it then just goes back to the spinning gear..
I have tried single user mode - no joy
I have tried target disk from another 27" iMac no joy
I have put the original discs in to try and boot from disc for a restore etc no joy...

Bit lost now and any ideas very much welcomed.. Simple language though as I am a novice lol

Regards

J
You need to carefully read Apple's instructions in "Mac OS X: Gray screen appears during startup' article. It is located at https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204325
Once you have read it, carefully execute each step as explained. If the machine still will not boot follow the steps in "Learn more" section.

macthefork

macrumors 6502
Feb 2, 2013