iMac for home use and Online MBA

Discussion in 'iMac' started by nickb1984, Nov 5, 2017.

  1. nickb1984 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    #1
    Hi All,

    I'll try not to ramble but need some advice!

    After a long (painful) home refurbishment the Man Cave is now complete and I am looking at an iMac for our family to be used as our home PC.

    Very little in the way of photo or video editing. Mainly used for storing photos and other media, games for my little girl (7 yrs old) and browsing, etc. Would also like to use the iMac to stream music around the house. Specifically to the Bose Soundtouch 20. Also connect and stream movies to a new Sony TV. So a bit of a home hub solution really.

    But, in addition, I am about to embark on an online MBA with a decent UK University. So, the iMac will be my main machine for this work.

    I will no doubt need to use excel, word and PowerPoint - still unsure of the best solution - word for Mac, etc, VW or Bootcamp.

    Also I have a 2017 iPad I would like to use as a companion device with the iMac for my MBA studies. Mainly for research when on the road and I'll do the majority of my coursework at home. Not sure is an iPad Pro would be a better solution for this?

    For the uses described, would the base 4k iMac suffice? Any other hints, tips or advice?

    Cheers.
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    "For the uses described, would the base 4k iMac suffice? Any other hints, tips or advice?"

    You'll do just fine with the base-level model, but WITH ONE EXCEPTION:
    Consider getting an SSD instead of the 1tb fusion drive.

    WHY I'm recommending this:
    The 1tb fusion drive has a measly 32gb of "SSD/flash" along with the 1tb platter-based hard drive. Before too long, the flash portion is going to "fill up" and speeds will be slowed down by the HDD.
    You're not going to be happy with this (emphasis emphasized!).

    Get the base model through the online "build-to-order" page, and get an internal SSD.
    Even the 256gb will do (adds $100 to the price).
    The 512gb costs a bit more (adds $300 to the price).
    I -WOULD NOT- recommend the 1tb SSD -- Apple gouges on this one.

    If 256gb is "not enough", you can always plug in an external USB3 drive, for whatever more storage space you'll need (use either an external SSD or HDD).

    Again, I predict you probably will find yourself dissatisfied with the 1tb fusion model in relatively short time.
    BUT... an internal SSD will keep the iMac "performing up to snuff" for a long time.
     
  3. nickb1984 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    #3
    Thank you for the response. If you order the 256 or 512gb SSD does apple still include the 1tb fusion or is it just the SSD that's included?
     
  4. tn-xyz macrumors regular

    tn-xyz

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2017
    #4
    it will be SSD only.
    you can't choose the SSD capacity of a fusion drive.
     
  5. jaduff46 macrumors 6502

    jaduff46

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Location:
    Second star on the right....
    #5
    @Fishrrman makes great suggestions which I agree with and my next iMac will be all SSD.

    It’s just the SSD that’s included in the configuration so the 512K SSD will work really well for you.

    I’ve had the 2010 for 7 years and it still runs well and allows for my photography and occasional software projects even without Retina and the SSD. I backup nightly with Carbonite.

    Did my MBA thesis, including the programming in C, in 1985 on a Mac Plus.

    Best of luck.
     
  6. nickb1984 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    #6
    Cheers. Much appreciated.
     
  7. Glockworkorange macrumors 68000

    Glockworkorange

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #7
    I second a 256 SSD. It’s a very well spent 100 bucks.
     
  8. nickb1984 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
  9. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #9
  10. nickb1984 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    #10
    Thanks for this. I assume the Ram is user upgradable on this model?

    Any views on the asking price?

    Nick
     
  11. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #11
    In theory it’s user upgradable on the 21.5 inch 4K iMac, in practice it’s a nightmare that involves completely disassembling the iMac.

    https://ifixit.org/blog/9192/2017-imac-ram-upgrade/

    The 27 inch has a little access panel for ram and is a 2 minute job.
     
  12. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #12
    For all practical purposes, RAM on the 2017 21" iMac is not "user upgradeable".

    To do so would pretty much require complete disassembly.
    You don't want to go there.

    Get a 27" -- better machine all the way around.
     

Share This Page

11 November 5, 2017