iMAC for maya work?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by demarcopbl, Apr 28, 2009.

1. demarcopbl macrumors member

Hi all. Im in the process of buying a somewhat 'dedicated' 3D machine for maya. I want to play around with some animation, and learn some new skills. I have learned the basics of the program using my Macbook Pro 2.4GHZ intel / 4 GB DDR2 RAM and so far, so good. However, im a designer/web designer by trade and would rather keep the resources available on my laptop for that. I talked to someone at apple and they felt that the iMac 2.93GHZ 4 gig DDR3 RAM (citing that its twice as fast as DDR2, so would be like having 8 gigs of my current RAM) and 256 NVIDIA gforce card would be sufficient. Now, I have used one of the older iMacs, circa 2005/6 when I was in college. I remember doing some 2D motion work on it (in After Effects - forget which version). It was PAINFULLY slow and crashed on me if I got too click happy. Naturally this make wary of using one for 3D apps. Like I said, I have just learnt the basics, and havent actually done any rigging, skinning or lighting yet, so im concerned it'll be the same thing all over again when i get into the 'meat' of the program. On the other hand, it seems far more convenient (in terms of space, weight etc) than the mac pro. I take what sales reps tell me with a pinch of salt, so I thought id put it out there for the Mac community and see if anyone has any experience and/or recommendations for this? thanks in advance. Mike

2. !GIR! macrumors newbie