iMac freeze problem

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by CBX, Oct 19, 2008.

1. CBX macrumors regular

the last few days I have had a problem with my iMac.

I have the wireless mouse and keyboard.

First the mouse stops registering the scroll ball and mouse click, however the pointer still moves for a while and then that stops to!

At this point the keyboard stops responding too.

I tried to put the mac to sleep by pressing the button at the back once but nothing happened. I had to hold the power button and restart. After the restart it is all ok!

This has happened about 3 times in as many days!

Can anyone help out as I'm fairly new with macs and don't know where to start?

2. JediMeister macrumors 68040

Well, you need to figure out whether its the computer actually freezing or just not getting the bluetooth signal from the wireless devices. If you plug in a USB mouse, can you move the mouse cursor around? Another thing to try would be just simply replacing the batteries in the mouse & keyboard or just switching it off and then back on. If it won't work with new batteries or happens again I'd bring the system into an Apple store to have the bluetooth module evaluated.

3. cantthinkofone macrumors 65816

cantthinkofone

Try repairing permissions.

clean the P RAM ( hold Command-Option-P-R and wait for 2-3 chimes) on start up.

bad ram?

logic board problem?

still under apple care?

4. CBX thread starter macrumors regular

Ok. I dont have a usb mouse/keyboard to hand so I have changed the batteries in both over. However, if it was the batteries/connection would I not get a connection lost message? And why would I not be able to put the mac to sleep by pressing the button at the back?

With regards to 'Reparing the permissions'. What does this mean exactly? What permissions need repairing and why does this occur?

BTW do I need the disc in to do this or not? I plan to do it later today once I give the new batterys a shot at the problem.