Imac freezing / crashing / Kernal panics!!! - help!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by andyjamesnelson, Oct 13, 2008.

  1. andyjamesnelson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Jacob's house
    #1
    Hey,

    Yes there seems to be something very wrong with my iMac.

    I bought it couple of months second hand. At the time it seemed all fine.

    I put a copy of Leopard on it and install 2 gigs or ram that my friend had spare (he works at Cancom).

    Its hard to tell whats going on and when it started but recently in the last two weeks or so its getting worse and worse.

    Programs freeze and crash all the time. I started getting loads of Kernal panics and it got to the point in which the computer had a kernal panic every time I switched it on and wouldn't boot.

    I changed the ram back and thats stopped happening which is something at least.

    What I don't understand is the constant freezing and crashing of applications?

    I mean sometimes I'll be trying to write an email and it gets so slow that the text appears like 3 seconds after I type it!

    I'm wondering if people think its a hardware of software problem?

    Also could there be something with the ram slots and not just the ram?

    Also I wanted to try making a new partition and installing Tiger back onto the computer but when I try with Disk Utility it won't let me saying no space on device even though there is more the 50 gigs free on the HD?

    The Imac itself is a 20inch 2gig duo core

    http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/imac/stats/imac_cd_2.0_20.html

    Please let me know if you have any suggestions.

    Thanks, Andy.
     
  2. AlexisV macrumors 68000

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #2
    Classic dodgy memory syndrome!

    So what situation are you in now where it's stopped crashing? Do you just have one stick 1Gb memory in there?

    Try this: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1379
     
  3. andyjamesnelson thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Jacob's house
    #3
    Hey right now it has 1 gig over two chips.

    Its still being very slow and crashing / freezing often ...

    One has an Apple sticker on it and the other doesn't? The bought it of said he never touched the ram and it was upgraded by Apple itself.

    Do you have any idea why I cannot add a partition using disk utility?

    Is there any way to test ram?

    Andy
     
  4. richardsim7 macrumors regular

    richardsim7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    #4
    Yes, TechTool Deluxe :)

    -Rich-
     
  5. andyjamesnelson thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Jacob's house
    #5
    Hey

    I just downloaded an app called Rember that claims to be able to text ram.

    Still it cannot seem to test all the ram just whatever sections are not being used by other processes.

    Still what if the bad sectors are in those being used by other processes?

    I mean my computer is just a spinning ball of death nightmare :(


    Andy
     
  6. AlexisV macrumors 68000

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #6
    So what happens if you just have one stick of 512Mb in there?
     

Share This Page