iMac from USA to UK

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by hovitos-way, Nov 26, 2007.

1. hovitos-way macrumors member

Hi, I am a british student studying in America for a while and need(!!!) a Mac. I really don't like laptops too much and have always been a fan of desktop computers. Even when I have had a laptop, more than 90% of the time it stays on my desk plugged in to the power supply. Therefore I have decided to go for an iMac. I have also thought that I might as well go all the way and get the 24 inch, 2.8GHz. I have a couple of queries however. The first is probably easy to answer: Will there be a new version of the iMac coming soon (the next 3-6 months)? I am guessing that there won't be as, if I am correct, there was an update fairly recently. The second query is a bit more of a problem. The one time I will be moving with my computer is when I travel back to the UK. How would you recommend I get it back to England. I guess that I won't have to pay any tax for it when I do come back to the UK as I would have been using it a fair bit before I go back, and I am a student here on a student visa so I guess (hope) there won't be any extra charges for it when I get back. Also, the 24 inch cant exactly be taken as hand luggage (I looked at the iLugger, but checked baggage allowances and the iLugger is still to large). Therefore, should I put it in my suitcase and risk damage and maybe even theft, or should I post it home by courier and face the extra costs. Also, does anyone have a ball park figure for what a company like fed-ex/ups/etc... would charge to carry an iMac from the USA to the UK. I should be saving around $700 by buying it here so as long as it isn't TOOO much I probably won't mind.

Thanks,

Hovito :)apple: noob)

2. jnc macrumors 68020

jnc

I'd get a hard-shell suitcase and pack it in there, with lots of padding. (Clothes!) I believe you can remove the stand which will make it more compact.