iMac Frozen

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by b.akroyd, Feb 16, 2015.

  1. b.akroyd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    #1
    2008 iMac has suddenly frozen up. Ram is 2 @ 4GB and memory is 250GB of 500GB so nothing out of the ordinary there other than the machine being old.

    Bootup time is 15 - 20mins and virus checker cannot see the HDD.

    Any ideas would be hugely appreciated. I am even considering turning to the dark side and buying a PC...please help before I leave the Mac world!!

    Yours hopefully.

    Ben
     
  2. doubledee macrumors 6502

    doubledee

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Location:
    Arizona
    #2
    Can you give us some history of how all of this happened?

    Also, what are your usage patterns?

    Do you download movies/music/porn/other things?

    Do you frequent any risky websites?

    What antivirus software are you running?

    I'm sure things can be fixed, and if you think you have issues now, then go buy a PC and every day you will deal with such issues! ;)

    Sincerely,


    Debbie
     
  3. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #3
    I can tell the history. In a nutshell, it's a 7-year old iMac, and the hard drive is probably original.
    15 to 20 minutes, just to boot up?
    If it takes a really long time for boot and other file access, then likely the hard drive is just struggling along, and you are just getting more symptoms of failure.

    I think you can fix your issue by replacing the hard drive.
    Do you have a current backup of your hard drive?
    If you do not have a good backup, that should be your next step.
    Replace the hard drive.
    An SSD can be a great way to revive your iMac's performance.
     
  4. b.akroyd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    #4
    History

    Hi both,

    Thanks for the quick responses.

    Mac is 2008 2.66 GHz
    4GB DDR2
    Running 10.8.5

    Yep HDD is original and no I have not downloaded loads of videos or porn. So not sure what the sudden issue is with the iMac now freezing other than a techexpert from D-Link coming online and using TeamViewer to fix a problem with Time Machine backups to a NAS.

    HDD is backed up on a NAS so I could replace the HDD, but I have no idea how to and have been told it is a tricky job. Could an inexperienced Mac user replace a HDD?
     
  5. doubledee macrumors 6502

    doubledee

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Location:
    Arizona
    #5
    As long as it is just moderate amounts of porn then that's okay... ;) *LMAO*


    This may not be an option, but have you considered looking on the Mac Store for a newer refurbished Mac? (Maybe it is time to upgrade?)

    If not, then replacing a hard-drive is not too difficult, and if you have the original installation disk, wiping your current HDD clean or getting a new one would certainly be a good place to start.

    HTH,


    Debbie
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #6
    iFixit.com has a whole library of computer repair guides.
    Here's one that shows you what is needed to replace the hard drive in your Early-2008 iMac. https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/iMac+Intel+20-Inch+EMC+2133+and+2210+Hard+Drive+Replacement/1008

    You can review those steps, and see if it is something that you want to tackle.
    Note - repairing your 2008 iMac is not too challenging, you do need a couple of special tools. The iFixit guide shows you what is needed.
     
  7. b.akroyd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    #7
    Thanks

    Wow, thanks again for the quick response.

    I DDDIY (Don't do DIY) so the removing of the HDD looks a little tricky if I am honest, but I guess I do not have a lot to lose. Any recommendations on what HDD to buy for this model?

    Also, on the iFixit video, the girl skipped the removing the casing from the HDD and inserting the new HDD, is that an easy job?

    Finally, should I not increase the RAM first or is this not needed?
     
  8. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #8
    RAM is something that you can do at any time, and you don't need to do that at the same time that you would do other repairs. It's just a small access door on the bottom edge.
    Hard drive can be your choice of any 3.5-inch drive - the capacity can be anything from 250GB > several TB :D .
    What do I recommend? SSD. That would change how you replace the drive, as it would require changing how the drive is mounted internally. Again, that's something that you can find instructions fairly easily.

    The video didn't skip anything, as far as I could tell.
    There's a bracket, and a couple of pins that are transferred from the old drive to the new drive. It's just part of the replacement process, and the video mentioned both. A replacement hard drive doesn't come in a "casing", so I don't know what you were describing.
    Or, you could find someone locally who can help you, or someone who works on computers can handle the task - particularly if you provide some information about the replacement through that iFixit site. I have a shop locally where I would be OK with the work, even through they rarely work on Macs, if at all.
    But, that's up to you, too :D
     
  9. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #9
    I went through the thread, and all I noticed was it takes 15-20 mins to boot. When does it freeze? under load?

    Do you have the disks that came with it?
     
  10. b.akroyd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    #10
    hi iShater,

    Boot times are slow (unless I start in Safe Mode) every time. I have checked disk utility and the HDD is working fine. The CPU seems to be running ok with no apps taking huge loads, so it is a complete mystery why it is happening.

    Safe mode is ok, but normal mode is painful
     
  11. Bomb Bloke macrumors regular

    Bomb Bloke

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2015
    Location:
    Tasmania (AU)
    #11
    Please be specific. What are the symptoms here? When the system "freezes", does that mean you can't even move your mouse pointer around, or...? What do you need to do before you can use it again? Just wait (if so, how long?), or...?
     
  12. Elbert C macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    AK, USA
    #12
    Safe mode does not open startup and login items during startup and log in. One or both of those might be causing the slow startup of your iMac
     

Share This Page