iMac G3 (2,1) Should Screen Display a Picture even without RAM?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by SR20DETDOG, Mar 9, 2014.

  1. SR20DETDOG macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I picked up an iMac G3 of the side of the road yesterday. I tried turning it on but all I got was a single beep, I found out this means there was no RAM installed/detected, and sure enough there's no RAM at all inside it.

    I'd like to buy some and getting it up and running again, I'm just a little concerned about the display. If there's no RAM installed is it normal for the display to not show anything? I think it sounds like it's working, at least when I turned it off again it made the same sounds that all CRTs make.

    Basically, I can deal with simply replacing the RAM but if the display is done for I might pass it on.

    Thanks.
     
  2. iMacC2D, Mar 10, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2017
  3. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #3
    Make sure you buy low density PC-100 or PC-133 SDRAM modules sized 32-512MB.
     
  4. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #4
    Damn, another story of an iMac G3 sitting OUTSIDE that still "works".
     
  5. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #5
    I've got some 64mb and 128mb sticks out of an iMac g3, yours for shipping from California.
     

Share This Page