iMac G3 400MHz will not turn on

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ibookos9, Jun 19, 2010.

1. ibookos9 macrumors member

ibookos9

whenever i press the power button nothing happens i know the power button has a spring behind it but when i press it it feels like it just goes back farther into the computer and thats what it looks like it did. I don't have the keyboard to turn it on with (that came with the computer) the power cord it plugged into a good outlet and into the back of the computer correctly. I don't know what to do about this old imac help please! also i don't want to take it apart because im not very good at doing things like that. Is there some other way to turn it on other than the power button on the front??

2. peakchua macrumors regular

call applecare and tell them your problem, theyll be able to diagnose it. if they do and say its a problem with the power button, then you should be able to find the keyboard on the net.

3. SuperCompu2 macrumors 6502a

SuperCompu2

The techs at Applecare will laugh in your face if you ask about an iMac G3. Just so you know....

But in all seriousness, i would try to figure out what happened to the main power button, and see if it can be easily remedied. DO NOT TAKE THESE APART YOURSELF though, if you have even the slightest bit of hesitation about tearing machines open. G3s contain Cathode Ray Tubes that hold a lot of electricity in capacitors, and if touched could seriously injure you. So if it requires internal work, get a handy friend to help you out, preferably a very tech savvy one!