Imac G3 Over Hual (Finally)

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by comda, Oct 22, 2014.

  1. comda macrumors 6502a

    comda

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #1
    Greetings MacRumors!

    After some years of owning my DV model Imac G3 (tangerine) i want to finally upgrade it. Current System setup is as follows:

    Imac G3 Tangerine
    400Mhz PPC G3 CPU
    384mb Ram
    20GB hard drive
    DVD rom 4x
    Wifi card

    Dual osx 9.1 and 10.2.8

    What i want to do is pop in a Gig of RAM and Tiger. But my concern is Ram. Is ordering off Ebay trustworthy? like for example this auctioneer.
    http://www.ebay.ca/itm/NEW-1-5GB-3x...4506725?pt=US_Memory_RAM_&hash=item4ac947d065

    Or even this: http://www.ebay.ca/itm/111439169116?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

    Just dont want to recieve bad RAm eh.
     
  2. three macrumors 6502a

    three

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Washington State
    #2
    Fun! I have two iMac G3 models and I love 'em. eBay is perfectly safe if you know who you should and shouldn't buy from. The first link didn't work but the second link did. The seller has little feedback but has 100% rating so far. I'd buy it if I were you. If you get bad RAM, you have 14 days to return the product.

    Have fun with the upgrading!
     
  3. comda thread starter macrumors 6502a

    comda

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
  4. ProDigit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Location:
    Miami, fl
    #4
    I know my g3 has a max of 512mb ram, with the soldered 64mb of ram equals 578mb tops. The machine doesn't take more, and doesn't need more on os 9 or osx 10.3. Only browser does.
     
  5. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #5
  6. comda thread starter macrumors 6502a

    comda

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #6
    Alright. Would you suggest me getting a PC100? both sticks i have shown you are PC133. What i was really worried is can i trust cheap ram like the 3 set. and Anything else i can do with this G3? Like where can i get a good compatible Clock battery?
     
  7. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #7
    The battery is available online through eBay or perhaps your local parts shop or RadioShack has it. The PC133 should be fine just ensure that it is low density memory. I have learned from wise Intell that all PPC Macs must use low density and high density won't work.
     
  8. comda thread starter macrumors 6502a

    comda

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #8
    Alright. What does that mean? Low density? And what does the Mhz mean? like do both Ram sticks need to be the same MHZ?
     
  9. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #9

    You should use the same memory in all slots.
     
  10. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #10
    But you don't have to. Just make sure the slowest speed is supported by the machine. The other sticks will downclock to match it.
     
  11. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #11

    Don't some machines have issues with mixing memory speeds?
     
  12. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #12
    Some older Old World PowerPC Macs do. When New World Macs have problems with mixed memory, it's likely caused by the memory's inability to work at a slower speed.
     
  13. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #13


    That makes sense! I had issues with mixing RAM in my QuickSilver and as a result always said "just get one type". Thank you for the correction.
     
  14. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #14
    Quicksilvers can only take one type, low density PC133. If you put PC100 in them, they won't boot.
     
  15. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #15


    And there you have my reason why it didn't work. Sorry to derail this thread. Back to your regularly scheduled programming....
     
  16. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #16
    Have you thought about upgrading the hard drive? Those circa 2001 hard drives are very slow compared to more modern drives. Note: They cannot use hard drives larger than 128GB in size without third party drivers.
     
  17. comda thread starter macrumors 6502a

    comda

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #17
    So the sticks i posted from Ebay wont work or will they? And as to the Hard drive i have a 20Gb in there right now. Im replacing it with a 40 because i want the machine practically silent.
     
  18. ctmpkmlec4 macrumors 6502

    ctmpkmlec4

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    Lyons, KS
    #18
    Yes, they should work given that they are low-density chips. I have never had a problem using PC-133 RAM in a computer spec'd for PC-100. BUT... your iMac only has two RAM slots and allows for a maximum of 1 GB of total RAM. So, if you buy the RAM from that particular eBay seller, you'll have an extra 512 MB stick that you can't use unless you want a spare.

    Check this out: http://www.ebay.ca/itm/1GB-2-x-512MB-PC133-Desktop-RAM-Memory-PC-133-CL3-SDRAM-2-x-512-MB-Non-ECC-/111490894416?pt=US_Memory_RAM_&hash=item19f5600a50. It ships from the U.S., so it may be a deal-breaker for you.
    Also check out OWC: http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other%20World%20Computing/100SD512328/. Not sure what shipping would be to Canada.

    EDIT: Looks like DHL International shipping is $2.99 (U.S. dollars). But that's to Ottawa.
     
  19. comda thread starter macrumors 6502a

    comda

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #19
    What is low density ram and how do I tell if this is? I also am a newbie at eBay so how do I see what my shipping costs are going to be to Ontario canada?
     
  20. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #20

    That is low density. Essentially the amount of "chips" on RAM sticks determines the capacity.
     
  21. CYB3RBYTE macrumors regular

    CYB3RBYTE

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Location:
    Midwest
    #21
    You can get a new clock battery for cheap at Other World Computers. I had a dead PRAM battery in my Quicksilver, and the ones on Ebay are generally like $10+, whereas over at OWC they are like $5 with $3 shipping.

    ----------

    I had so many problems finding the right RAM for my Quicksilver, it was like trying to climb mount everest on fire (even then the winds would extinguish you).

    It took me three months and countless dollars wasted on Ebay to finally get 3 sticks of 512MB Low-Density PC-133 RAM.

    Make sure you get the brand that originally came with the machine to ensure compatibility (I think it starts with an M, perhaps memorex??). I have also found Samsung and Enyx RAM to work just fine, too.
     
  22. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #22
    Micron ram? Memorox makes CDs and DVDs :)

    When I bought a clock battery for my G5 I believe it was a little over $6 from OWC.
     
  23. CYB3RBYTE macrumors regular

    CYB3RBYTE

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Location:
    Midwest
    #23
    Oh yeah I remember it was Micron! Good job!

    My battery was like $6 from OWC too. I just got Apple Radeon 9600XT for my Quicksilver too, so wish me well on modding it for my 17" Studio Display!
     
  24. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #24
    Good guess for me yay! I think there is one other ram that starts with a M.. Mushkin! or Mushin, something like that.

    If you need some pics on making the adapter for the ADC power on the 9600, look here! http://ppcarchive.dyniform.net/r9600-in-mdd.html
     
  25. CYB3RBYTE macrumors regular

    CYB3RBYTE

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Location:
    Midwest
    #25
    Thanks for hooking me up Gavin! I actually started a thread about this as a different user a while back (I used to be Aperturexs) so I already have some info about how to do it. If you want some extra photos from me doing it I would be glad to provide some!
     

Share This Page