iMac G4 20 inch dream come true

Discussion in 'iMac' started by garedot, Jun 27, 2016.

  1. garedot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    #1
    Hi, I would like to share with you , I am a iMac line fan, I have iMac G3 400MHz, iMac G4 usb 2.0 15 and 17 inches, also iMac G5 Intel core 2 Duo 17, 20 and 24 inches, so and iMac G4 20 inches was always a goal to me but now in days iMac G4 20 inches is becoming a hard to get computer!
    Yesterday I was planning how to spend Sunday day with my wife and kids during breakfast, then I alwas like to check for things on Craiglist after breakfast time, then I saw a Post "Mac computer for Free" and saw the picture of an iMac G4 in very good shape, inmeadiatelly I realize that was the 20 inch, post was 12 hours old when I found it, so I thouth maybe someone else already had this Free Mac computer. Ohhh my goodnesss! So I sent an email for this post inmeadiately but I didnt received any answer, I was checking my email every minute, then I stoped to check my email and thought it was so good to be true, so given up, then I received a call.... I cant belive it, it was true about the post and it is still available!!!!, we arranged to meet each other in downtown Philly.
    Now I got it, iMac G4 20 inches including original mouse and keyboard completly FREE!!!!


    [​IMG]
     
  2. samadulator macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    #2
    Great find! I loved the iMac G4, it was a great design! Just be aware that the 17" and 20" models can sometimes... tilt... a little to the right. Known issue and it's nothing more than a minor annoyance. But hey—free iMac!
     
  3. garedot thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    #3
    Thanks Samadulator! Once arrvied home yesterday with this iMac I turned on and wait for the Apple logo showed up, then I saw it and said ohhhh good, but after Apple logo it appeared the Black box message in all languages "Restart Computer"
    After Targeting iMacs 17 and 20 inches found that the issue is on 20 inches Hard Disk. I am planning to Re-Partition the Hard Drive and install Leopard. Also found no Airport Extreme installed on imac and only 756 MB of Ram, everything else is in very good working condition!
     
  4. samadulator macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    #4
    There are a few possibilities. That error message is called a kernel exception and it can be indicative of a hardware issue or it could be just something in the software. Repartitioning and reinstalling OS X will definitely isolate the issue to one or the other. Hopefully it's just a software issue. As for the AirPort Extreme—if you really want an AirPort Extreme card, they're still floating around on the internet.

    https://www.amazon.com/Apple-M8881LL-AirPort-Extreme-Card/dp/B0000899ZB

    Hope this helps!
     
  5. garedot thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    #5
    For sure is the HD itself, I connected iMac 17 inches in Target mode and used iMac 20 inches all afternoon to make sure no overheat or any kind of Hardware problems, it works very good!
    Then I tried to boot iMac 17 inches with 20 inches HD in Target mode and received the same Kernel now on my pre-owned 17 inches.
     
  6. MultiFinder17 macrumors 68000

    MultiFinder17

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #6
    The iMac G4 is a wonderful machine. I have one in my kitchen hooked into a pair of pro speakers, serving up recipes and music for me while I'm cooking. Congratulations on getting a 20", one of the best of the bunch!

    image.jpeg
     
  7. ProjectManager101 Suspended

    ProjectManager101

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    #7
    Try getting a mac mini and with some good soldering to make the G4 a new i7.
     
  8. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #8
    If the hardware was dead that would be an interesting project to try, but I would hate to see someone destroy a working G4 iMac to mod it like that.
     
  9. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #9
    Congrats OP, and to state that I'm jealous, would be a vast understatement. I love that iMac its a very iconic and lovely design.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 28, 2016 ---
    Its more then just soldering a new CPU onto the logic board. You'd need to replace the entire logic board with an intel one.
     
  10. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #10
    I would imagine you could pull out the guts of the G$ and fit a logic board from a Mac Mini in there. The difficulty would be getting the display hooked up and working as well as finding a way that looked good to get access to the Mac Mini's ports on the outside of the case since they obviously won't line up with the existing holes.
     
  11. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #11
    Definitely, there may be some fitting required but yeah, that's probably one mac that your could do.
     
  12. ProjectManager101 Suspended

    ProjectManager101

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    #12
    Yes, that is what I mean. Get rid of the G4 stuff. Take a mac mini aparte and make it fit. Then re connect all the ports from the inside. I mean, is a load of work but is a fun thing to do.
     
  13. varian55zx macrumors 6502a

    varian55zx

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #13
    As a huge Apple guy, I can't help but share a little of your satisfaction after reading your post!

    Good for you!

    I know what it's like to collect something and you finally find the one you were looking for.

    Take care of the little guy
     

Share This Page