• Did you order new AirTags? We've opened a dedicated AirTags forum.

garedot

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 27, 2016
3
2
Hi, I would like to share with you , I am a iMac line fan, I have iMac G3 400MHz, iMac G4 usb 2.0 15 and 17 inches, also iMac G5 Intel core 2 Duo 17, 20 and 24 inches, so and iMac G4 20 inches was always a goal to me but now in days iMac G4 20 inches is becoming a hard to get computer!
Yesterday I was planning how to spend Sunday day with my wife and kids during breakfast, then I alwas like to check for things on Craiglist after breakfast time, then I saw a Post "Mac computer for Free" and saw the picture of an iMac G4 in very good shape, inmeadiatelly I realize that was the 20 inch, post was 12 hours old when I found it, so I thouth maybe someone else already had this Free Mac computer. Ohhh my goodnesss! So I sent an email for this post inmeadiately but I didnt received any answer, I was checking my email every minute, then I stoped to check my email and thought it was so good to be true, so given up, then I received a call.... I cant belive it, it was true about the post and it is still available!!!!, we arranged to meet each other in downtown Philly.
Now I got it, iMac G4 20 inches including original mouse and keyboard completly FREE!!!!


skylxx.jpg
 

samadulator

macrumors newbie
Mar 9, 2016
20
33
Great find! I loved the iMac G4, it was a great design! Just be aware that the 17" and 20" models can sometimes... tilt... a little to the right. Known issue and it's nothing more than a minor annoyance. But hey—free iMac!
 
  • Like
Reactions: garedot
Comment

garedot

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 27, 2016
3
2
Thanks Samadulator! Once arrvied home yesterday with this iMac I turned on and wait for the Apple logo showed up, then I saw it and said ohhhh good, but after Apple logo it appeared the Black box message in all languages "Restart Computer"
After Targeting iMacs 17 and 20 inches found that the issue is on 20 inches Hard Disk. I am planning to Re-Partition the Hard Drive and install Leopard. Also found no Airport Extreme installed on imac and only 756 MB of Ram, everything else is in very good working condition!
 
Comment

samadulator

macrumors newbie
Mar 9, 2016
20
33
There are a few possibilities. That error message is called a kernel exception and it can be indicative of a hardware issue or it could be just something in the software. Repartitioning and reinstalling OS X will definitely isolate the issue to one or the other. Hopefully it's just a software issue. As for the AirPort Extreme—if you really want an AirPort Extreme card, they're still floating around on the internet.

https://www.amazon.com/Apple-M8881LL-AirPort-Extreme-Card/dp/B0000899ZB

Hope this helps!
 
Comment

garedot

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 27, 2016
3
2
For sure is the HD itself, I connected iMac 17 inches in Target mode and used iMac 20 inches all afternoon to make sure no overheat or any kind of Hardware problems, it works very good!
Then I tried to boot iMac 17 inches with 20 inches HD in Target mode and received the same Kernel now on my pre-owned 17 inches.
 
Comment

MultiFinder17

macrumors 68020
Jan 8, 2008
2,316
1,160
Tampa, Florida
The iMac G4 is a wonderful machine. I have one in my kitchen hooked into a pair of pro speakers, serving up recipes and music for me while I'm cooking. Congratulations on getting a 20", one of the best of the bunch!

image.jpeg
 
  • Like
Reactions: s¡juandelarocha
Comment

maflynn

Moderator
Staff member
May 3, 2009
67,867
35,336
Boston
iMac G4 20 inches including original mouse and keyboard completly FREE!!!!
Congrats OP, and to state that I'm jealous, would be a vast understatement. I love that iMac its a very iconic and lovely design.
[doublepost=1467118734][/doublepost]
Try getting a mac mini and with some good soldering to make the G4 a new i7.
Its more then just soldering a new CPU onto the logic board. You'd need to replace the entire logic board with an intel one.
 
Comment

0007776

Suspended
Jul 11, 2006
6,473
8,169
Somewhere
Its more then just soldering a new CPU onto the logic board. You'd need to replace the entire logic board with an intel one.
I would imagine you could pull out the guts of the G$ and fit a logic board from a Mac Mini in there. The difficulty would be getting the display hooked up and working as well as finding a way that looked good to get access to the Mac Mini's ports on the outside of the case since they obviously won't line up with the existing holes.
 
Comment

ProjectManager101

Suspended
Jul 12, 2015
458
719
Yes, that is what I mean. Get rid of the G4 stuff. Take a mac mini aparte and make it fit. Then re connect all the ports from the inside. I mean, is a load of work but is a fun thing to do.
 
Comment

varian55zx

macrumors 6502a
May 10, 2012
748
260
San Francisco
As a huge Apple guy, I can't help but share a little of your satisfaction after reading your post!

Good for you!

I know what it's like to collect something and you finally find the one you were looking for.

Take care of the little guy
 
Comment
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.