iMac G4 Help

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Cuba46, Jan 15, 2011.

  1. Cuba46 macrumors newbie

    Cuba46

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Location:
    LA
    #1
    I just recently bought an iMac G4 on eBay. Its great and works fine but I have a few questions as follows:

    1. It didn't ship with an airport card, can I use an ethernet cord to connect my Mac to my laptop (which is a PC) to give my Mac an internet connection?

    2. I am trying to use LeopardAssist to install Leopard on it. Will it work? These are my specs: OS X 10.4.11, 700 MHz PowerPC G4, 256 MB SDRAM, nVidia GeForce2 MX



    Thanks for your help!
     
  2. PurrBall macrumors 6502a

    PurrBall

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    1. Yes. Bridge your ethernet and Wi-Fi connections in Windows and it should work.
    2. If Leopard even runs on 256 MB RAM, it wouldn't be usable at all. Add more RAM and it should work with LeopardAssist. The iMac G4 in my signature is running Leopard, but it's significantly slower than Tiger. I would only do it if you truly need Leopard-only apps. Apple still maintains Safari for Tiger.
     
  3. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #3
    From my experience in trying to aid a friend in installing Leopard on a 12" PowerBook G4 (with specs of something like 1.33GHz, 256MB RAM, etc), the Leopard disc would not even boot in the computer with the stock 256MB RAM. He bought some RAM, installed it, and now it works perfectly. Btw, Leopard requires 512MB of RAM. It barely runs on that. To function well, you should have over a gigabyte of RAM in it.
     
  4. Cuba46, Jan 16, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2011

    Cuba46 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Cuba46

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Location:
    LA
    #4
    Thanks PurrBall for the quick response. My laptop is running windows 7, how do set up an internet bridge? Thanks again!
     
  5. chrismacguy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    However if you ignore the installer and use FW Target Disk Mode, 10.5 will boot on a 700Mhz G4 with 128MB RAM :p
     
  6. PurrBall macrumors 6502a

    PurrBall

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    Well, if you don't have a crossover cable, then ICS is probably the easier way to go- simply open Control Panel -> Network and Sharing Center -> Change adapter settings -> Right-click your wireless connection and choose 'Properties' -> Sharing tab -> Check the first box.
     
  7. Cuba46 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Cuba46

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Location:
    LA

Share This Page