iMac G4 logic board compatibility

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by kge420, Nov 7, 2011.

  1. kge420 macrumors member

    kge420

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #1
    I have an 800mhz iMac G4 with a failed logic board and have access to a 700mhz logic board. Can the 700 be installed in the 800? Any issues?
    Thanks, Keith
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    The 700/800Mhz are compatible with each other. But not with the 1/1.25Ghz ones.
     
  3. kge420 thread starter macrumors member

    kge420

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #3
    Thanks for the quick reply. I can't find where the video/lcd cable plugs into the 700 board. Is that connection in the same area?
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  5. kge420 thread starter macrumors member

    kge420

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    Do you see where the 800Mhz screen plugged into the board? The connector is fragile and it could have been damaged.
     
  7. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #7
    make sure the actual socket was not broken off , because often ,not always the connection is so tight that it seems impossible to disconnect and people pull the whole socket out of the board by mistake and even without realising it , resoldering is possible , so you could if on the 700 the socket is missing take out the socket from your 800 and solder it into the 700 board
     
  8. kge420 thread starter macrumors member

    kge420

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #9
    Thanks for the replies. I'll take a shot at removing the connector from the 800mhz board. I'll keep you posted on any success or failure.
     

Share This Page