iMac G4 Logic Board Interchangeability

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by bunnspecial, Apr 23, 2015.

  1. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #1
    Will a logic board out of a 20" iMac work in a 17" of the same generation?

    And, please don't ask why I need to know this :rolleyes::rolleyes:

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. mzs.112000 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    #2
    Found some info on MacRumors, http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1758245

    A lot of the information on that thread suggests that it will not work :(:(
    I don't know if that information is true or not though so some more google-fu/search-engine-farming may be needed.
     
  3. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #3
    I think a 20" will work in a 1.25Ghz 17" iMac.
     
  4. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #4
    Thanks-both that I'm looking at are 1.25ghz.

    I'm going to make one more attempt this evening to repair mine, and if I'm unsucessful(as I probably will be) I'll snag one off Ebay. Surprisingly enough, the 20" boards are plentiful, but not the 17s.

    I'll have to take the computer apart again anyway, so will compare the part numbers on the board I have and the one I'm looking at before ordering.

    BTW, I know many of you all know this, but it's worth repeating that the display connector on the logic board is fairly fragile :rolleyes:
     
  5. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #5
    Well, it looks like the 17" and 20" have different p/ns, and I don't want to spend $50 to find out if they are interchangeable or not. Looks like I need to put out some WTB posts for a 17" logic board
     
  6. mzs.112000 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    #6
    I found some 17 inch logic boards you might be interested in.

    1Ghz Logic board, $39.99:
    http://www.amazon.com/Apple-iMac-G4...429933650&sr=8-1&keywords=imac+g4+logic+board

    1Ghz Logic Board, $50.75:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/iMac-G4-17-...394?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item27fdd7462a

    800Mhz G4 Logic board, $24.99:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/iMac-G4-17-...490?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3ced92a52a

    1Ghz Logic Board, $53.99:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/APPLE-Genui...611?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2a442debd3

    there are more on ebay but they are over $60
     
  7. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #7
    Thanks, but I need a 1.25ghz. There's no way to change the processor on these.
     

Share This Page