Imac G4 updates: I need Spefications!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by harlow13, Mar 24, 2010.

  1. harlow13 macrumors member

    harlow13

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #1
    I have a Imac G4 running Os X 10.3.9 on 384 Mb and 700 MHz processor, What can i update on my computer?
    -Ram, Mhz, exc??

    Please this would be loads of help.:apple:
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    The maximum ram you can put in it is 1 Gb. 512 Mb in the User slot and 512 in the Service slot. You can run Leopard on it with a little bit of tweaking, but I would recommend Tiger. It can't run faster the 700Mhz. If you do open the iMac to replace the Service ram stick please read up on hold to do it first and make sure you get the right kind of ram. The two ram sticks in a G4 iMac are different in type.
     
  3. harlow13 thread starter macrumors member

    harlow13

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    I HAVE A RAM STICK, HOW DO I KNOW IF ITS COMPATIBLE WITH MY IMAC G4?
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    It is long or not so long. Can you tell me what text is on it. Allthe text please.
     
  5. harlow13 thread starter macrumors member

    harlow13

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    On the Front is a sticker, the sticker in big letters says OWC.
    Numbers on the stick from top to bottom (3sets) read:

    AVD6464U51A3133E0OWC SAP 45764-0951

    OWC100SO512328L

    6018559

    On the back, engraved on the stick reads like this:
    GH
    S160032LLLTK
    F -75A
     
  6. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #6
    That's the wrong RAM for an iMac G4. That's a PC100 stick. (Product page here) and the iMac needs PC133.

    The stick you have will physically fit, but it's the wrong speed for your iMac.
     
  7. harlow13 thread starter macrumors member

    harlow13

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    Do you have a link to where i can buy a ram stick that wont fry my Imac G4 700 mhz 10.3, but will max out my ram, im currently running 384 ram.
     
  8. CubeHacker macrumors 65816

    CubeHacker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #8
    My guess is that you currently have 256mb in the user replaceable slot, and 128mb in the non-user accessible slot, for a total of 384mb. Even if you add 512mb in the user replaceable slot, you will only get 512+128=640mb of RAM. You would have to add 512mb to both slots to get the full 1gb, but one of them has to be done by a service tech.
     
  9. harlow13 thread starter macrumors member

    harlow13

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    Can you please send me a link to the user accessible one?
    last time i bought one for my ibook g4 it fried my computer.
     
  10. edemcgrace macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    #10
    ^Fried?! :eek: I guess that changed my mind on the upgrades I'm planning on mine.
     
  11. CubeHacker macrumors 65816

    CubeHacker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #11
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2989
     

Share This Page