iMac G4 will not boot, not even to Open Firmware

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by dustinschings, Feb 2, 2017.

  1. dustinschings macrumors 6502

    dustinschings

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    #1
    I have an iMac G4 that has been a bit of a project. I got it as a parts machine. It was actually working fine, but the screen and neck had been removed. Well, I came across another iMac G4 that was the same exact model and, what do you know, the dome is bad. So I did the screen swap and now the iMac does not boot. It powers on and goes to the blank gray screen. It will not boot to the HDD which has Tiger on it. It will reset the PRAM when I use that key combination on boot, but will NOT boot to Open Firmware.

    At this point, I am kind of stumped. Anything I can do? I really don't have any reason to suspect the screen is bad, I have seen the machine it was on power on to a flashing ? folder just the other day.

    The only thing I can think of is that even though they are both 1GHz 17" models, the two computers had different looking PSUs. Could this be it?

    Dustin
     
  2. dustinschings thread starter macrumors 6502

    dustinschings

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    #2
    Anybody? Any suggestions or ideas welcome! Hate to trash it if there is some hope left!
     
  3. Daniël Oosterhuis macrumors 6502a

    Daniël Oosterhuis

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    Black Mesa Research Facility
    #3
  4. dustinschings thread starter macrumors 6502

    dustinschings

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    #4
    Not interested in putting a NUC inside. I am interested in turning a 20" model into a monitor with built in External HDD/Optical/USB 3.0 Hub. Too bad this isn't a broken 20" :( (I thought it was supposed to be a 20" when I ordered from eBay, but when it arrived, was a 17". This was my mistake for assuming the size based on a photo.)

    Since I only want to do that to a 20 inch model, I may just use this one as a "practice run".

    But is it really dead? Nothing else to try?
     
  5. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    Are you able to test with an external display?
     
  6. dustinschings thread starter macrumors 6502

    dustinschings

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    #6
    I can. What is your suggestion? Prior to my having a screen, I was using this "Dome" as a Mac Mini G4 with a monitor and keyboard and mouse.
     
  7. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #7
    With the iMac together, connect an external display and see what it shows.
     
  8. dustinschings thread starter macrumors 6502

    dustinschings

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    #8
    I connected it to an external, and it worked fine!. I opened it back up and reseated the video connector, but still just back light. I swapped out the power supply temporarily and it still had the same issue. Finally I swapped out motherboard and what do you know? A working combination! It is working fine now.
     
  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside

Share This Page