iMac g4 wireless signal strength

Discussion in 'iMac' started by okayjustin, Feb 9, 2011.

  1. okayjustin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Location:
    SF bay area
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

    I have an iMac g4 800mhz. I'm using the required Airport card to connect to my router here but it won't connect. Is it because the router is across the house in another room? I know my old PowerBook g4 couldn't connect even though I was 20ft away or something like that :/

    How can I boost the signal? Can I buy a wireless router and put it in the room with the iMac and that wireless router will connect to the other one in the house?

    Someone please help :/
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    1) If you have any Phone that operate at 2.4 Ghz., unplug them from power.

    2) Change the channel on your wireless router to channel 1.

    If 1 and 2 don't work, buy an Airport Express, configure it to connect to the wireless, then attach it to the iMac via Ethernet. Also, if it is the PCCard style (original) Airport, it is 802.11b, which is much slower, and has a much smaller range, in reality, than the g or n networks. You could also remove the airport card, then use an external USB device, and use USB extension cables to get it into a good place. Or better yet, put the router near the center of the house, so it covers the whole house evenly.

    TEG
     
  3. okayjustin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Location:
    SF bay area
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

    Thank u for the response! So if I buy an airport express and then connect my iMac g4 to it it's going to have more range to reach the router in the other room in the house?

    Or no because it's still "b" and the only difference is a couple of feet because the express is plug into the wall?

    Additional Wireless routers aren't an option to use inside the room with the iMac?
     
  4. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #4
    You might be able to use the express to extend your existing network, but unless your other router is an Airport router, then no. You would simply use the Airport Express to get the existing wireless signal, then connect it to the iMac with an ethernet cable. The thing limiting the ability to rebroadcast the wireless is your main router.

    TEG
     
  5. okayjustin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Location:
    SF bay area
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

    Alright so I'm going to use the airport express to connect to the G network router in the room and that connection will feed through Ethernet to the iMac via cable..?

    Just to clarify.. Thank u in advance
     
  6. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #6
    Yes. That should work.

    TEG
     

Share This Page