iMac G4 won't boot into target disk mode

Jawa

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 2, 2005
18
0
Hey guys, I just bought an 800 MHz iMac G4 , and whenever I try to boot into target disk mode it shuts itself down. I am connecting to an intel iMac, and the g4 has no OS installed on it (I am trying to install tiger using my dvd install dvd, the one with the black background and grey x which the G4 won't read). Does anyone know what could be causing this issue? I've already tried reseting the PMU and PRAM but that doesn't seem to help.
 

Jawa

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 2, 2005
18
0
hmm I just disabled the OF password and still nothing, it just keeps shutting down every time I try to start it up in target disk mode. Could it be a problem with the HDD?
 

MacHamster68

macrumors 68040
Sep 17, 2009
3,252
3
hmm I just disabled the OF password and still nothing, it just keeps shutting down every time I try to start it up in target disk mode. Could it be a problem with the HDD?
it could , but it could even be this problem as it describes exactly your problem

http://support.apple.com/kb/TA25584

i there is still a operating system on the mac just go into system preferences and select target disc mode and see what happens


just a interesting bit in a article about that problem ::

When you install a new optical drive, you'll want to set it up as "Master" if it's a Pioneer 105 or other iDVD-compatible drive, and the hard drive as slave. (Setting the drives to "Cable select" will result in the same setup.) (Note: generally with Macs that have both HD and Optical drive on the same cable (only one IDE bus), they have the HD set to Master. I'd Suggest NOT changing the Hard Drive Jumper setting - look at the old Optical drive you're removing and use the same jumper setting on the new drive that replaces it. (Jumper settings usually marked MA/Master, SL/Slave, CS/Cable select - normally iMac G4 optical drives are Slaves IIRC.)
A reader also mentioned that when using Firewire Target Disk Mode to transfer data to his new iMac G5 didn't work if the iMac G4's HD was set to slave, referring to an Apple kbase doc FireWire Target Disk Mode: Target Computer Shuts Down at Startup which said a Hard Drive must be on "Bus 0", but the iMac G4 has only one IDE bus (not two as many other Macs have). "Bus 0" isn't the same as Drive "ID 0" (master). (Drive -ID's- are 0 for Master, 1 for Slave.) OS X 10.2.4 had a problem not recognizing Superdrives if they were set to slave (noted back then in the news page) but OS X 10.2.5 fixed that issue.
In the past I have seen FW target disk mode *not* mount a Hard Drive set to slave on a system where I had 2 Hard Drives (one master, one slave) on the primary bus, although that may no longer be a problem for later macs, personally I'd set the new Optical drive to the same setting as the drive you're removing.
Starting with the MDD G4 towers, Apple suggests cable select for all drives, HD or optical. This automatically makes the end drive on the cable a master and the drive on the 2nd connector a slave.-Mike)

i hope that helps as i believe someone might have changed the harddrive / or optical drive and jumpered them wrong
 

Jawa

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 2, 2005
18
0
That could be it. I'm going to email the seller right now and ask them if they ever replaced the HDD or optical drive and changed the jumper cables around. I'd open it up and take a look myself but I don't have any thermal paste, so I'll have to wait until tomorrow to pick some up. Thanks for the help, though I really wish I wouldn't have to muck around inside to fix it.
 

DewGuy1999

macrumors 68040
Jan 25, 2009
3,196
6
Will it boot from the optical drive? What happens if you power it up without trying Target Disk Mode?
 

Jawa

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 2, 2005
18
0
There's no OS installed so I just get the flashing question mark/folder. And if I try booting from the optical drive it tries to read the disc but spits it out after a few seconds.
 

DewGuy1999

macrumors 68040
Jan 25, 2009
3,196
6
There's no OS installed so I just get the flashing question mark/folder. And if I try booting from the optical drive it tries to read the disc but spits it out after a few seconds.
Well, that's a good sign that you're getting the question mark/folder, at least it's not shutting down. Does it spit out all discs?
 

Jawa

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 2, 2005
18
0
ok so now it's not spitting out the tiger disk anymore. Instead after trying to read it for a while the screen just goes back to the flashing question mark.
 

ADent

macrumors 6502a
Sep 9, 2007
503
0
It should (at least may) boot from a USB drive also. My G4 eMac 800Mhz has USB booting.

Has to be OS 9 or 10.4.5 or later.

But Firewire is a better choice.
 

Jawa

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 2, 2005
18
0
Alright so i finally got it working last night, Turns out the HDD was dead and had to replaced. I used a Western Digital wd800 and switched the jumper to single. Target disk mode worked now, so I created a partition on the HDD with a restored image of my tiger disc, and installed from there. Hope this helps anyone else in the future who might be facing this same problem.
 

TheWeirdFriendWithOldMacs

macrumors newbie
Jul 6, 2017
1
0
Stockholm, Sweden
It sure did help!
I googled for ages before I stumbled upon this thread, which exactly described the problem with my iMac G4. You guys made me realize I never checked the jumpers before I put the HDD in! Installing Tiger right now, wohoo! :apple::apple::apple: Thanks alot, internet people from seven years ago!

Edit: I now see that the length of my username was a poor choice. Oh well.