iMac G5 booting issue?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by M1keyb77, Feb 19, 2013.

1. M1keyb77 macrumors member

Hi guys I'm new to the imac so go easy with me?
    Bought this a few days ago (imac g5 with iSight) working fine then one day it wouldn't boot. Just hung after the apple screen, got a blue screen and then nothing else. Tried resetting pram and what not. After messing I found that if I hold the shift key it would boot everything into safe mode. Once here tried repairing permissions and verifying them. Once again tried booting and the same thing was happening. Now I have no discs with the thing and what's more the DVD drive does not work. Managed to get a friend to load leopard onto a USB hard drive. Found a guide on how to boot from the USB. All this went fine then a reboot from new, found the same problem, except this time I could hear music as if I was at the intro stage of the start up (first time boot or whatever it's called) now after a few tries its back to the same old starting issues. Will not go past this blue screen, I have a mouse pointer in the left corner and then when I move it one stays in the corner and I'm able to move another lol
    Anyway booting with shift key again allows me to boot into safe mode with no problems. Does anyone know where to go from here or what I can do next? Really wanted to try out a cheaper mac before I dive in and get a more up to date one....

Thank you for taking the time to read my post, please feel free to ask if I've not made myself clear in anyway.

2. AlbertEinstein macrumors regular

AlbertEinstein

The iMac G5 had some freaky issues and will probably get worse over time. This is a hardware problem and will probably not be too easy to resolve.

Were talking about new mother/logic board..:apple:

3. MisterKeeks macrumors 68000

MisterKeeks

If you open the computer, do you see any bulging/leaking capacitors?

[​IMG]

4. Zotaccian macrumors 6502a

Zotaccian