iMac G5 Intel Core Duo Graphics Issue

Discussion in 'iMac' started by sinecurea, Feb 12, 2011.

  1. sinecurea macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #1
    Hi Folks,
    I've have a problem with my G5 Intel Core Duo iMac. It's a graphics issue.
    See attachment.

    Initially, the Apple logo appeared upside down and appeared where it shouldn't.
    I'm seeing artifacts on the screen where there should be none. It's reached a stage where I couldn't even boot into the OS - it would just hang. I'm about to wipe and install Snow Leopard and I'm just wondering whether this is a hardware problem, or whether a reinstall will fix the problem?

    Cheers!
    S.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. stroked Suspended

    stroked

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #2
    I think you should have some more of that good old Irish whiskey. mmmmmm Bushmills
     
  3. Bacong macrumors 68000

    Bacong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Westland, Michigan
    #3
    Definitely looks like a GPU issue. Take it into an Apple store if there's one close.
     
  4. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #4
    I don't think you have a G5 Intel Core Duo.....G5's have a PPC processor.
     
  5. MacHamster68, Feb 13, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2011

    MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #5
    i guess he knows that , you find often on ebay G5 iMac's with core duo processor sold ,just because apple did not change the case just the internals so the early intels look like identical twins of the G5 isight models ...some users only discover that when they try to install snow leopard on a isight G5 they bought as a core duo because the seller did list it wrong

    and yes looks like a gpu problem ,but you could try repair permissions , but i dout that brings a result , so i would try the full apple hardware test from the original disc's that came with the iMac or to reinstall the OS just to make sure its not caused by a corrupt system/gpu drivers
     

Share This Page