Imac g5 Mac Os X snow leopard problem

HINAYUPAKS

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 15, 2009
20
0
Hi there guys. i need a expert help from all you who knows exactly my problem is. but first i will tell you the story how this problem starts. my boss ask me to change her imac g5 os x snow leopard into xp. so i decided to install a bootcamp. the badthing is. i dnt read the manual that it cannot be boot from USB ext. cd drive. i put the xp cd there. and then the mac os ask me to reboot the pc... and there the problem starts.. the imac g5 wont boot anymore. it stays on the white screen with Apple Logo in the center.. i tried almost all the possible way.. ON Single User mode it freezes there... and never ever do anything. it will stays there forver saying LOADING.. something..... i tried to reboot from the cd drive of i mac... by pressing combo keys' CMD+OPT+SHIFT+DELETE and CMD+OPT+SHIFT+DELETE+# and "C" but it wont work... i dnt know if the optical eye of the cd drive can read or not. or maybe it cannot accept winxp Cd rom bootable installer, and the other problem is i dnt have the installer of mac osx snow leopard. so i am fuc** up hahaha anyone can help me? is there any other way? i would appriciate if u could help me .. and i will gonna promote this forum. if i find this very helpfull thanks in advance .. and i am hopingthat i can get immediate answers :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:
 

Sun Baked

macrumors G5
May 19, 2002
14,859
57
The G3, G4, and G5 are all PPC instruction chips.

The Intel machines are old fashioned x86 chips, only these can run Snow Leopard and Windows.

Quite sure if you read the Windows box it'll list x86 CPUs and so does Snow Leopard (Intel - Core Duo, Core2Duo, i5, i7, Xeons.)
 

HINAYUPAKS

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 15, 2009
20
0
The G3, G4, and G5 are all PPC instruction chips.

The Intel machines are old fashioned x86 chips, only these can run Snow Leopard and Windows.

Quite sure if you read the Windows box it'll list x86 CPUs and so does Snow Leopard (Intel - Core Duo, Core2Duo, i5, i7, Xeons.)
yes exaclty dude... did u know how to fix my problem? :(
 

HINAYUPAKS

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 15, 2009
20
0
If it's the iMac you linked, it's a new 27-inch iMac, with a Core 2 Duo or i5/7 quad core CPU, not a G5 PPC CPU.

There are also no white variants of this 27-inch iMac.
sorry its not white.... it gray sorry for that ... :)
 

HINAYUPAKS

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 15, 2009
20
0
Are you sure it's a G5 and not an intel? Since both Snow Leopard and Bootcamp are only available on Intel machines.
Ok sorry guys i am a firsttime imac user... its my first time to use mac os.. i dnt really have the idea about this... but i know how it works. the problem is i dont read manuals. this is my lesson. i cant see the real specs now because its not booting up.. no specs or models outside the case. but b4 i do the bootcamp thing installed... i saw the specs but i cannot fully remember.. its intel dual core
2gig memory 400+ gigabye of harddrive and the case color is gray...
 

Sun Baked

macrumors G5
May 19, 2002
14,859
57
Hopefully, you have not used bootcamp to format the wrong volume.

If you got the wired mouse you should be able to hold down the mouse button to eject the XP disc and put in the System Restore Disc that came with the machine in order to run Disk Utility to look at the partitions and how they are formatted.

Others have noted a possible problem with wireless keyboards on the new machines.

So you might have to grab an old Apple wired keyboard to get the command-s and c working.
 

HINAYUPAKS

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 15, 2009
20
0
Your best bet is to find the restore disks (its less than a month old so they couldn't have gone very far) and reboot and run Disk Utility and repair the Mac OS partition of the disk.
Where do you think i can find recovery disk? i stayed for almost 6 hours now in the net.. but i havent found 1 for that... so i decided to download at torrent the 7.5gb of installer... and my connection sux... in 3 hours i have 11.6% done hahahah
 

Sun Baked

macrumors G5
May 19, 2002
14,859
57
Where do you think i can find recovery disk? i stayed for almost 6 hours now in the net.. but i havent found 1 for that... so i decided to download at torrent the 7.5gb of installer... and my connection sux... in 3 hours i have 11.6% done hahahah
Came in the new box a couple weeks ago, and it has to be the ones that came with this machine or a model exactly like it ... they are keyed to the Mac model number.
 

HINAYUPAKS

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 15, 2009
20
0
Hopefully, you have not used bootcamp to format the wrong volume.
[/qoute]
I actually used the Bootcamp and i resize the 35gig to 160gig space for xp..
the thing is i put the winxp cd in the external cdrom connected to a usb port. because i never knew that it has cd rom drive at the right of the screen.. too bad because its too late for me to realize that ive done something wrong..
If you got the wired mouse you should be able to hold down the mouse button to eject the XP disc and put in the System Restore Disc that came with the machine in order to run Disk Utility to look at the partitions and how they are formatted.

Others have noted a possible problem with wireless keyboards on the new machines.

So you might have to grab an old Apple wired keyboard to get the command-s and c working.
My keyboard and mouse are all wired... how long does it takes to hold down the keys? to boot from cd drom
 

Sun Baked

macrumors G5
May 19, 2002
14,859
57
My keyboard and mouse are all wired... how long does it takes to hold down the keys? to boot from cd drom
Shouldn't take long to boot from the CD or into single user using command S.

You can hold down the option key to see if there are any bootable volumes.
 

HINAYUPAKS

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 15, 2009
20
0
Shouldn't take long to boot from the CD or into single user using command S.

You can hold down the option key to see if there are any bootable volumes.
ey that was nice... i press the OPTION button and the icon shows in the center then i click it and then my MAC OS boot up... what the fuc* ... it been looking for the solutions for almost 1 day.. and 6 hours the solution is that? wow thanks a lot man...

Solutions:

Press Down Option Key when you heard the chimes...
CLick the icon and wait..

Then Thats It

Thank you very much Sunbaked :) i owe you one.. ill be back
 

Similar threads

  • z970mp
0
Replies
0
Views
148
  • longboarder
0
Replies
0
Views
171
  • ltpitt
12
Replies
12
Views
856
  • supremeleader573
0
Replies
0
Views
169
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.