Imac g5 memory upgrade..memory not recognised

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by sicharlton, Nov 11, 2007.

  1. sicharlton macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #1
    Hello all, recently purchased this.. http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI....m=270182043462&ssPageName=STRK:MEWN:IT&ih=017
    as I was under the impression that pc ram is perfectly capable of being used in a mac....this is maybe where I am firstly going wrong? Basically i've installed the ram but it simply is not being recognised. Currently running 512 adding 1GB. When I only run with the 1GB stick the computer will not start and it just beeps. Is there anything that I need to enable or modify somewhere in order for the ram to be recognised? I've tried each in different slots etc.. but no joy.
    Thanks, any help much appreciated
    Si
     
  2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
  3. djejrejk macrumors 6502a

    djejrejk

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Location:
    Uhh...
    #3
    Never buy memory off of ebay... so risky.

    Yeah, unless you tell us what model (specific processor, when purchased etc*) we cant help you
     
  4. sicharlton thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #4
    ah yeah, that probably would have helped. sorry.
    Original Imac G5 (non intel, non isight) 20" 1.8ghz 512mb osx Tiger 10.4.10
    cheers
     
  5. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #5
    PowerPC Macs are notoriously picky about RAM, which is why it was usually recommended that people buy from trusted sellers who tested the RAM in the appropriate Mac models and guaranteed compatibility. Intel Macs seem to be much more forgiving when it comes to RAM, but you have to be careful with the older PPC ones.

    Are you sure you had the RAM seated correctly? Many users don't push hard enough to get the RAM all the way into the slot.
     

Share This Page