Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cerithomas

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 22, 2010
Newquay, Cornwall, UK
Hi All!

This is my first post and first iMac so please go light on me as I have little knowledge so far :confused:

I recently purchased an iMac G5 1st gen running PowerPc I'm aware the later gens had intel installed so it is proving hard to find a Mac Tiger full upgrade disk that is compatible, currently I am running Panther osx 10.3.9 which operates well but I'm having difficulties viewing some websites and can't install up to date browsers to enable me to, or can I?

Basically until I upgrade to Tiger I belive I'm stuck when it comes to viewing certain websites? or am I wrong? at present I can't access hotmail, youtube and many elements of facebook are not functioning properly, am I correct in believing this is a problem I will have until I upgrade or is there some way of getting around this with my version?

Your help and advice is greatly appreciated,

Thanks,

Ceri.

dXTC

macrumors 68020
Oct 30, 2006
Up, up in my studio, studio
I recently purchased an iMac G5 1st gen running PowerPc I'm aware the later gens had intel installed so it is proving hard to find a Mac Tiger full upgrade disk that is compatible, currently I am running Panther osx 10.3.9 which operates well but I'm having difficulties viewing some websites and can't install up to date browsers to enable me to, or can I?

Basically until I upgrade to Tiger I belive I'm stuck when it comes to viewing certain websites? or am I wrong? at present I can't access hotmail, youtube and many elements of facebook are not functioning properly, am I correct in believing this is a problem I will have until I upgrade or is there some way of getting around this with my version?