iMac G5 Vertical White Line - How to fix without sending to Apple?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by LOLZpersonok, Aug 10, 2012.

1. LOLZpersonok macrumors 6502a

LOLZpersonok

I need a response quickly, that's why I signed up. Not sure if this is the correct place for this thread.

I want to buy my first Mac computer but I don't have a job, so I found a dirt cheap iMac G5. But it has the apparently common white line on the screen. Since I am tech savvy, I think I could fix it, but I've never worked on ANY type of Apple computer before. Don't say it can't be done at home because I know it can. I've restored old computers before.

How can I do this for cheap? I want to know because I do intend on buying it. I can't find anything better. (I found an iMac G3 but when I contacted the seller he told me he had already sold it)

2. mrkramer macrumors 603

mrkramer

Based on what I've been looking at about it it's a problem with the LCD screen which will need to be replaced. Check out ifixit for guides on how to do that if you really want to. Though honestly if you haven't already bought it I wouldn't. I've had nothing but problems with the one iMac G5 i've dealt with also it's so old now that unless you are good with running old versions of software even a newer PC would be better if you can't afford a better mac.

3. G51989 macrumors 68030

G51989

Don't buy it. The cost of replacing that LCD screen is FAR more than what the computer is worth.

Get a cheap Windows XP/7 PC. Or buy a G5 tower, and ****** monitor.

iMac G5s are garbage. They were garbage when they were new, and they are still garbage. Worst Mac put out in the past 10 years.

4. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

Jessica Lares

If you're going to go through the PowerPC route, get a PowerMac G5 versus the iMac G5.