iMac-Gaming?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by HarrisonGallagh, Oct 29, 2011.

  1. HarrisonGallagh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    #1
    Hello, I am new here, so don't really know what I am doing, but I am looking to buy the 2011 21.5" iMac The upgraded model so Spec wise:

    21.5-inch: 2.5GHz
    2.5GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5
    1920 x 1080 resolution
    4GB (two 2GB) memory
    500GB hard drive1
    AMD Radeon HD 6750M with 512MB
    I was also going to purchase memory from crucial and Upgrade the RAM to 16GB.


    I was wondering how this would stack up gaming wise, and at what settings it would play newcoming games liek Modern Warefare 3 at, and battlefield 3, Would it be able to handle theese at medium/High settings?
    Many help much appreciated
    Harrison
     
  2. macmastersam macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Location:
    Essex, england
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-gb) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    http://www.game-debate.com/games/index.php?g_id=1164&game=Battlefield+3&p_make=Intel&p_deriv=Core+i5-2400S+2.5GHz&gc_make=ATI&gc_deriv=Radeon+HD+6750&ram=16&laptop=0&checkSubmit=#systemRequirements

    Yep, you can run games like battlefield 3 and/or modern warfare 3, assuming they use the same computer specs. The link above directs you to a website containing the info for the computer specs required to play battlefield 3. I can't find the computer specs required for MW3, but like I said before, I'm assuming the same specs for this game. So if you want to play both on your iMac, then double the RAM and hardrive space required to play BF3.
     
  3. szolr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    Owing to the fact that Modern Warfare 3 hasn't been released yet no one can really answer that part of your query. It may not even be available for OS X-Cod 5/6/7 weren't.

    And you want 16 GB of RAM but will stick with an i5 processor? Jeez, please tell me you're joking... Processor is more important than RAM-bump it up to an i7 before you spend a cent on RAM
     
  4. macmastersam macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Location:
    Essex, england
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-gb) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    ^^^^ I agree. If you stick with i5, then get the 8GB RAM module, but upgrade to i7 first (if you can on a mac!?) then get the 16GB module, as the i5 motherboard probably can't take 16GBs of RAM, hence the fact that apple online store will allow you to upgrade to 8 GB RAM max but correct me if I'm wrong tho
     
  5. szolr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5


    It can according to the Apple Store, which allows customisation up to 16 GB. And yes it allows you to switch for an i7 too. :)
     
  6. macmastersam macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Location:
    Essex, england
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-gb) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)



    Are you talking about the build to order online option? Or can you upgrade the mac to the i7 processor manually as well?
     

Share This Page