iMac goes right back to sleep after wake-up

Discussion in 'iMac' started by RRmalvado, Aug 13, 2010.

  1. RRmalvado macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #1
    I have an older iMac (MA589LL) that I recently upgraded to 4GB and Snow Leopard which is running beautifully. I do have an issue with it though, and it's been occurring for a while:

    Whenever the machine goes to sleep and I wake it up, the monitor turns on just fine but after about 5 seconds it goes back to sleep. I have to repeat this about 3 times and then it is fine.

    It's an annoying issue but not a deal breaker as I can just turn it off. I searched for sleep issues/turn off issues and have not found anything.

    Any ideas here?

    NOTE: Issue occurred before the upgrades. I've also tried resetting the PRAM and NVRAM. I have also used different keyboards/mouses.
     
  2. d88co88 macrumors 6502

    d88co88

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    MN
    #2
    Try an archive and install and see if that helps. Do you have a hot corner set to sleep?
     
  3. RRmalvado thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #3
    No hot corners setup and have reinstalled Snow Leopard.
    For giggles I even tried other OSes : WinXP, Vista, Win7, Ubuntu and they exhibit the same issue.
     
  4. RRmalvado thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
  5. RRmalvado thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #5
    So from my research, it is definitely a power supply or logic board issue.

    Has anyone here experienced something similar regarding this? Or can offer any input?
     
  6. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #6
    If it happens with other OSs (via Boot Camp, not Parallels or Fusion), then it's definitely a hardware issue.
     
  7. RRmalvado thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #7
    Definitely agree. Could it be the inverter?

    I don't think it's the power supply because the machine itself remains on (evident by programs continuing running, it locks if i set it to lock, downloads keep downloading).
     
  8. 87vert macrumors 6502

    87vert

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #8
    so is it going back to sleep or is the display shutting off? Maybe try an external display if available.
     
  9. RRmalvado thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #9
    I originally thought it was going to sleep since it would lock but when i disabled that function it stayed on the desktop (or at whatever program i have running), so the display seems to be having the actual issue.

    How can I connect an external display onto this iMac?
     
  10. dagomike macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #10
    I had this on my older iMac. Basically it wakes, then immediately goes dark, but I can still run the computer blind. I just basically figured it was due for a restart.
     
  11. 87vert macrumors 6502

    87vert

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #11
  12. RRmalvado thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #12
    How'd you fix it? Or am I misinterpreting
     
  13. RRmalvado thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #13
    Ok, well using an external monitor the computer is 100% usable.
    I even tried using Logmein.com and I could remote in just fine and use the iMac.

    So there is something definitely wrong with the LCD.

    Based on this is there something I can try to fix myself? Could it be the power supply? or the inverter or __________?
     
  14. RRmalvado thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
  15. RRmalvado thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #15
    Just in case anyone has the same issue, I resolved it by using a new keyboard and mouse.

    I'm guessing the Apple Keyboard/Mouse combo (the one it came with) was shorting out the iMac? That's the only sensible explanation I could think of.

    All in all, it's fixed and I can continue on with my projects.
     

Share This Page