iMac graphical glitch when restarting

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Ztormie, Jan 24, 2013.

  1. Ztormie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    #1
  2. FreemanW macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Location:
    The Real Northern California
    #2
    Oh my.

    That does not look good.

    But . . . this is only when you Restart, not a cold boot? Curious.

    Does it happen every time or only occasionally? Only Restart or Start up from Off state?

    These are some questions that I would imagine Apple will ask.

    I would initiate a ticket with AppleCare support, include the video for their consumption. I would guess "faulty" GPU section diagnosis and unit replacement is in your future.

    Sorry. :(
     
  3. Ztormie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    #3
    Don't have Apple Care, this is a late 2010 iMac and I didn't purchase any besides the first free year. :(

    I tried a cold boot just now and it happend then as well, when I restarted in Windows it didn't occur though, weird.

    Might a OS-reinstall help with anything? As I said, the computer works fine apart from this, no weird graphics or anything so I might just have to live with it :/
     
  4. FreemanW macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Location:
    The Real Northern California
    #4
    Oh, it is not new. /$h!+burgers

    Uh, yeah, I was tempted to mention that diagnosis might very well include Apple wanting to reinstall the OS.

    Yeah, if you've all your data and software dusks in a row, you could try that and see if it provides resolution joy.

    Good luck! :)

    /in honor of Ray Lewis being in another Superbowl, I'll take a stab at the culprit being a bad IC board that is in the early stages of failure.
     
  5. WilliamG macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #5
    I'd do a reinstall to rule that out, but also reset the SMC/PRAM first maybe.
     
  6. Ztormie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
  7. Ztormie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    #7
    I reset the PRAM and it worked! No more glitching :D Thanks so much for your advice guys!
     
  8. WilliamG macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #8
    Glad that fixed it! :) :)
     
  9. FreemanW macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Location:
    The Real Northern California
    #9
    Very cool indeed!! :D

    ----------

    While I realize that this question derails the thread . . . .

    I'm new to Mac, what exactly is SMC/PRAM?

    It sounds as though SMC is analogous to the BIOS on a PC?

    . . . . and PRAM is analogous to the CMOS on a PC?
     

Share This Page