iMac has no sound!! WHY?!?!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by alexxk, Apr 15, 2016.

  1. alexxk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    #1
    Yes, new 27 iMac maxed out pretty much has stopped outputting sound either through internal speakers or with a headphone plugged in.

    This happened out of nowhere, noticed no chime turning the machine on.. doubled check everything.. tried resetting the SMC I think is called and the VRAM clean up and nothing.. I can't play music through iTunes to watch videos, no sound at all.

    I can change the volume up and down but no sound at all will come out.

    now, if I connect my computer through a thunderbolt cable to HDMI to the TV then I can send the sound to the TV and it will play, weird.

    I will call Apple tonight after work, anything I should try before? What could it be the issue?

    Anyone?
     
  2. bcave098 macrumors 6502

    bcave098

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Location:
    Northern British Columbia
    #2
    Are the internal speakers/headphones selected as the output source in System Preferences?
     
  3. alexxk thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    #3
    Yes, however when I plug in the headphone nothing changed there.. the internal speaker stays there
     
  4. JackRoch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #4
    Have you tried the 'Audio MIDI Setup' in your Utilities folder? My iMac had somewhat similar vanishing audio symptoms a while back and selecting the audio output and fiddling with the 'Configure Speakers...' a few times seemed to cure it.
    I'm no expert and don't want to lead you astray but it might be worth exploring!
     
  5. kiwipeso1 Suspended

    kiwipeso1

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #5
    This can depend on whether you install the system while using the headphone port.
    I suggest that you may want to do a TM backup, then do a clean install off a USB disk.
    (Wipe, then fresh install while booted in USB installer.)

    If that doesn't work for you, make sure you have Applecare and get it repaired for free.
     
  6. MetalCores macrumors regular

    MetalCores

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Location:
    Mosinee, WI
    #6
    Don't know if this will work but you could always try a p-ram reset. Turn the computer off and hit the power button and hold down command>Option>p>r.
     
  7. alexxk thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    #7
    Thanks for the responses.. I talked to Apple over the phone we went over a few things and nothing, he asked me to take to the store..

    The Audio Midi Setup I played with it but all seems ok there
    The PRAM reset I did several times.
    Fresh Install I'm not sure it will fix anything.. I'm saying this because not even the chime when I turn the machine on will sound..

    I think its a hardware problem, unfortunately.

    I have the computer for less than 1 year so I'm covered and now I will deff buy the apple care before the 1 year expires..

    I have an appointment with Apple Genius bar for Tuesday, will be taking this gigantic machine to the mall..
     
  8. alexxk thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    #8
    Apple called me today about my iMac.

    They replaced the speakers and it didn't fix, they replaced the logic board and now the computer will not power on so now they ordered a new power supply to replace that as well.

    I'm worried having a computer totally modified like that, should I?
     
  9. NewtonPippin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    #9
    Yes. I would worry too. They should give you a new machine, that's absurd to basically be replacing the most core components... seemingly aimlessly.
     
  10. kiwipeso1 Suspended

    kiwipeso1

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #10
    Having worked at a third party apple retailer before, no it is fairly common practice for applecare repair jobs to be extremely thorough.
    I once had a customer who had his Macbook Pro HDD and Airport replaced with the same model HDD and Airport for the same cost to Apple as a brand new 15" Macbook Pro.

    I would suggest that Apple will replace those faulty parts with the exact same model's parts until they get it working as it was when you bought it. No need to worry at all.
     
  11. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #11
    if after messing with your imac, if you will have another big or small problem sue them if they are not replacing your imac
     
  12. JustMartin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    I'm not sure you should be worried. After all, a computer is just a collection of components that someone put together. All that's happening here is that someone is replacing components. They're not introducing new functionality, they're just replacing like for like.

    As for the people doing the work, it does seem like an unfortunate series of events - new speakers followed by new logic board, that somehow screwed the power supply
     
  13. OLDCODGER macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Location:
    Lucky Country
    #13
    Do you have access to Bluetooth headphones/speakers? If so, and they work, then your problem is most likely a stuck headphone jack (I had the same problem, though on a Mini).
     
  14. alexxk thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    #14
    Update..

    Got my iMac back..

    They changed the speakers, the logic board and the power supply and today while working the computer restarted on its own 3 times.. I called apple and they asked me to take back to the store..

    This is soon frustrating, Should I ask Apple to give a brand new one? This is custom build, can someone please give some good advise on how to proceed??
     

Share This Page