Imac HD video to HDTV?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by davidnssbm, Apr 24, 2011.

  1. davidnssbm macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
  2. WalcomTV macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    #2
    Apple sells them, HDMI adpaters.
    Adapter to HDMI to TV.
    I think it's called a 'Moshi' or something. Belkin sells them too, apparently.
     
  3. davidnssbm thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    #3
    wow! very simple thanks so much! Looks like it does audio too (didn't know mindp transfered audio)

    but one Q, will I have to plug this directly into my Tv and use the ****** TV speakers? or can I go into my receiver and use my good speakers? any idea?
     
  4. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #4
    I'm not sure when HDMI audio was implemented in iMacs. In the MBP, it was last summer. Might want to post your model to make sure that audio goes out via HDMI for you.

    Sure, you can route the HDMI through your receiver. Is it a AV receiver or just audio? If it's just audio, you can get a digital audio cable and just use HDMI for video instead.
     
  5. WalcomTV macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  6. phlydude macrumors regular

    phlydude

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    Newark, DE
    #7
    Monoprice.com sells all kinds of DisplayPort adapters about 1/5 the price of Apple - good reviews on the items and all the HDMI and other cables I have bought from them in the past have been perfect

    Some people have sworn them off because of a credit card issue from a few years back (they got hacked) but I use PayPal on all my purchases there and haven't had an issue
     
  7. spacepower7 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #8
    Many HDTVs have an optical digital out on the back. This takes the sound out of the HDMI connected directly to the TV and sends stereo or Dolby digital to your receiver via Toslink cable. Depends on all your devices, there could be several ways to set up your system.
     

Share This Page