iMac HDD Problem?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by JavaWizKid, Jul 27, 2013.

  1. JavaWizKid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #1
    My iMac wont start and is showing just a http://chris.pirillo.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/03/3331459927_56be5b67cb.jpg sign. I've ran the hardware test, that is ok. Recovery partition works (Lion). I couldn't clone the hdd to an external as it failed and I tried to repair disk using disk util and said failed. This is pointing to a HDD failure right? I just wonder why the recovery partition works.

    If so, iMac 24" has a 3.5" sata 2 HDD? Since sata 2 is hard to come by these days, would a sata 3 HDD work, any branding?

    Thanks a lot!
     
  2. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #2
    You probably have some bad sectors in just the right places preventing the boot up but allowing the recovery partition to work. You can also put in a SATA 3 HDD or SSD in the SATA 2 computer as they're backwards compatible.

    If you can, try out Spinrite as described below.

    Note: Steve Gibson is currently working on a new version of Spinrite that will work natively on the Mac as well as the PC. Watch for it!

    I use a PC DOS-based program called Spinrite as a maintenance and data recovery utility on all my HDD's. You have to have an IBM-PC in order to use it though. You take the HDD out of the Mac and connect it to the IBM-PC and run the program. Below is my old MBP HDD in a Dell PC with Spinrite working on it.

    Independent review of Spinrite (not me)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    The SMART Utility, for OS X, was indicating a bad sector on my iMac HDD and recently I took it out and installed an SSD. I put the HDD in a Dell PC and ran Spinrite on it, correcting the bad sector.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  3. JavaWizKid thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #3
    So if the HDD has bad sectors, can you reinstall OSX or is the hard drive actually physically damaged? Do I need to buy a new HDD?
     
  4. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #4
    Its possible to do a reinstall, but its no guarantee that it will work right. They can be repaired or marked bad so as not to be written to again with Spinrite.

    Typically, when a HDD gets bad sectors, its an indication that it may be starting to go bad, or has gotten too bad to keep.
     
  5. JavaWizKid thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
  6. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #6
    I would recommend, if you plan on replacing it, to go with an SSD to greatly improve the performance of your Mac over a HDD.
     

Share This Page